Spent Yesterday on Clonea Strand

Well, most of it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I had a typing test in the morning, but that only took 20 minutes and then I was free for the rest of the day. Mam had suggested we take a trip to the seaside, and the weather was cracking so off we went.

Also, my cousin, her sister, and their kids were also heading for the same beach. 'Ginny is only over on a flying visit for the weekend so this looked like our only chance to see her.

It was a lazy drive down to the beach, we stopped in Carrick-on-Suir for lunch and a bit of window shopping. I found straight razors for sale in a hardware shop. :eyes: I would have bought one for the novelty, but they were a bit expensive for an impulse purchase.

Then we got lost * twice *. :irked:

I love navigating in Ireland. ๐Ÿ™„ First, there are two Cloneas. One is actually Clonea Power, but do you think they'd put that on the sign?

Once we got that sorted out and were almost to the shore, the signs ran out and I had to guess which way to go. Unfortunately I for the first rule of Irish road-signs, they only tell you if you're supposed to turn. If there's no sign you should know that means to go straight on. :bomb:

We FINALLY got down to the beach just in time to meet the other crowd leaving. There was time for a chat, and we caught them before they had packed up so I offered to bring all the chairs, windbreaks, etc. home with us and save them the trouble. They were delighted, and it meant Mom and I had a ready made site.

Like I said, the weather was gorgeous. Blazing sunshine, but a light breeze to keep you cool. I sat a read for a while and then went for a long walk, up and down the sands.

It was great. And like all good walks – while the body roamed, the mind wandered. I thought about life in general and nothing in particular, enjoying the sun and the sea and the air.

Once I'd run out of beach I sat and read some more. I was hoping to finish my book before it was time to go home. But the tide snuck in and we had to make a hasty retreat.

Another leisurely drive back with a stop in Waterford for supper.

Finally,
<rant>
To the f***wit in the green MG convertible on the Waterford – Kilkenny road last night. So sorry you didn't have the accident you were so desperately trying for. Better luck next time.
</rant>

Sorry you had to witness that, but it's been nagging on me.

:spock:

EDIT: Just posted some pictures from the trip.

4 thoughts on “Spent Yesterday on Clonea Strand

  1. Hiya Mickey'STRAND' is the Dutch word for 'beach'…………..just thought I would share that with you :)Waka

  2. Greetings Brother Waka,Interesting, I never called a beach a strand until I came to Ireland. I wonder if it is from Dutch? It does sound classy – "strolling on the strand".

  3. Hello Brother,strand or beach – that's complete irrelevant – this place on our earth looks really great on your photos.I want to the beach/strand – now!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  4. Thanks, it was lovely. Unfortunately the water was polluted on the day we were there (forgot to mention that :doh:) and you weren't supposed to swim. I'd love to get back to the seaside, but too busy at the moment. ๐Ÿ™„

Leave a Reply

