People are giving me stick

But I don't mind.


While we were doing the reading for the Arts Festival I spotted a pack of tourists (or so I thought) carrying identical walking sticks. "Interesting," I thought, "they must be together. I wonder where they got the sticks." Then I saw a person go by with two sticks, then another with three, then a lad walked by with half-a-dozen under his arm.

"What's going on here :confused: " Are they selling them? Did they buy out a shop?

Once our group finished up, I went over to a girl with a pair of sticks and asked her what the story was. They looked so nice, I was going to find out where they got them and see about buying one for myself.

Little did I know…

Turns she's part of a religious group. And they go around giving out these sticks free to the public.

Before I knew it she was handing me one of the sticks she held and asking me to accept her gift. :eyes:

How mad is that?

So now I have to go and break this in. Here's hoping Walky isn't the jealous type. πŸ˜€

20 thoughts on “People are giving me stick

  1. A religious gift or not . . .A free walking stick outdoes a free "W.W.J.D." bracelet anyday of the week . . .

  2. Oooh free stuff, cool and a walking stick even better.I`m tempted to start shouting blasphemer but its probably just jealousy speaking. I want one too.

  3. Hey Knave,I'm not one to be checking the dental work on a gift horse. ;)Brother Sprogger,Last I heard they were heading for Cork. So they might make it round to your neck of the woods. Good luck. :up: If you're desperate enough you could order one on-line. With the exchange rate it's a pretty good deal, assuming they'll ship to Ireland.

  4. :zzz: That must be a sign – a walking stick for one of the founder of the COTWG :eyes:Must be a sign! πŸ˜€

  5. Very nice. I have never used a walking stick but as my knees age……..I may have to order one!

  6. What a great idea! and you got one for free! they sell for 20USD over the internet. I wonder if they think the Irish really need their help πŸ˜€

  7. Hi Mickeyjoe. Was just out checking on some stuff on opera community and ran across your name at the top.I wondered hey! that sounds like the canuck I was talking to awhile back.Just thought I would pop in say HI. :)Red Green has finally called it quits as of last season. :(Nice work on your blog.Keep yur stick on the ice. -strat89

  8. Hello Brothers and Sisters, I can't believe how lucky I was to get my stick, totally out of the blue like that. I'm not sure how or why they were Ireland, but I'm glad they were.Hello strat, 'fraid I don't remember our conversation, but thanks for stopping by. Shame about Red, one of the world's misunderstood – or incoherent :confused: – philosophers. Mind how ye go.

  9. Sticks for a religous order; why that's almost like the COWTG and the sub-sect of hammer holders!I wonder where they got the idea from… πŸ˜›

  10. Hmmmm, Is it a staff, a stick, a cane or a pole?Is there any real difference?Should anyone care?:D

  11. Sprogger you stop that now. Father Mickey-Joe's gone and fallen off his chair a few too many times. So, can we drop all this about the walking sticks now… anyway you've definitely got the biggest stick, even for an Irishman. πŸ˜† (where is that post anyway?)

  12. cane, club, crutch, pikestaff, pole, prop, rod, stave, walking stick, wandSo many words for what is basicly the same thing a length of Wood:D that you lean on.Its not important how big the stick is, its how you walk with it. :PThe guide page to the previous stick conversationhttp://my.opera.com/COTWG/blog/show.dml/378168

  13. Thank you for that homily Brother Sprogger. (and for the link, that brought back memories :lol:)

  14. Sure, 'tis a grand, fine schtick. Or possibly a bata.The label doesn't bother me half_tech, in fact the back was a great place to put my details in case it gets lost, or I do ;)And I don't have to worry about falling now Sister San, I use the stick to prop myself up. πŸ˜€

  15. I still don't get the whole stick-thing :DBut, i think it's pretty interesting. Here, in Serbia, we have some boring old religious groups, this would be a refreshmend ;)Still, been on the website, don't get the point…Is that religious group well known, or it was rather surprising for you that they exist?

  16. I suppose the sticks are just a gimmick to get people interested and act as an icebreaker to allow these missionaries to approach people and spread their message. It worked with me πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

