Technical difficulties

are partly my fault. …

๐Ÿ™„
Good grief, I haven't been very active in the community lately, have I?

Well, it was partly due to the time of year and the added madness of my brother's visit. Not that I'm complaining, but there was just too much to pack into too little time.

So I managed to get a quick little post in after dropping the visitors at the airport. That night we had a huge windstorm that knocked out the phone line, again. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ :bomb:

So I figured I would use this downtime to install all the upgrades I got for Christmas. 512Mb of RAM, a new video card, and a bigger harddrive (80Gb). While I was at it, I thought it would be a good time to switch to XP with a fresh install.

Things went smoothly, for the most part. The only real problem was with my modem. Some serious driver issues led to the dreaded BSOD on several occasions. So I needed to get online to download the latest drivers, but I couldn't get online without the latest drivers…

So here I am at my aunt's house. Blatantly hogging her bandwith to download ~200Mb worth of windows patches. Hopefully, this will sort everything out and regular service will resume. The phone is finally back working.

But the โ‚ฌ64 question. WHAT ABOUT THE PANCAKES?!?!?!?:insane:

Yes they arrived, though it was touch and go for a little while (packing issues). Two boxes of mix and a bottle of syrup. Haven't had an opportunity to get into them yet, but expect an obsessively detailed post when I do.

Mind yourselves and TTYS, :spock:

UPDATE:

New driver sorted my modem problems, but the phone line is still iffy. If the wind picks up again I'll be offline until the phone company decides to send an engineer out. At the minute we're in limbo. The old company says they aren't providing our line anymore, and the new comapny says they're not providing our line yet. :confused: :furious:

10 thoughts on “Technical difficulties

  1. TTYS, talk to you soon? Is that correct????Sounds like your computer is going to be cooking!!!!:smile:

  2. That's it, Talk To You Soon.I'm quite pleased withthe new hardware. :up: It mean my computer is mearly outdateed, not obsolete. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Good to see you survived your "nap" and all the wonderfully invigorating:eyes: weather we have been getting.Switching to XP? what were you using before 98,2000I know the first thing I did when I started on XP was to switch back to the classic look, doesn't take up as many valuable resources.Good luck with the new hardware.

  4. Hi Mickey,Your computer upgrade will sure make a big difference. I've recently putted an additional 512Mb RAM on mine and it made quite a difference. :happy:Don't forget the photos with the obsessively-detailed-pancake-post! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. the pancakes… :drool: :drool: :drool:hope all your computey problems are solved soon… :worried:

  6. Ah the joys of telecommunications companies,touch wood I have had no problems recently but I to take a nate to get drunk last week so he could get over being in the middle of a BT/Tiscali row as to why his internet failed to connect.

  7. Hey Mickey, good to talk to you again. I too haven't posted in a long time, much longer than you I am afraid. I'm glad your upgrades went well. I bought a new Powerbook a couple months ago as my old laptop was getting a bit slow. It's nice to have a capable computer! Enjoy your pancakes!

  8. Vista is another way for M$ to make more money while making you believe you need to buy it. They've tried that before I think…

Leave a Reply

