Just when you thought it was safe to change your background

Oh this Irish weather :yuck:

It all started yesterday. Walking by the kitchen window I noticed the birds were going mad for the feeder. "Odd," I thought, "what's got into them?"


Well I guess they knew something I didn't and were trying to stock up. Because the next time I looked out this was the view. If you look closely you can see the flakes coming down.

It kept snowing for the rest of the afternoon, and the temperature dropped sharply. The weather was all over the evening news, along with warnings not to travel as the roads were very bad.

I didn't need any more encouragement. I stoked up the fire and spent the evening at home, even though it meant missing my writer's group :down:


The wind picked up later on and I though I heard rain, It must have been freezing rain, because we still had snow on the ground the next morning. It started coming down again too. This is ridiculous, was I going to be stuck at home again? The roads still looked treacherous. Then suddenly the sun came out and everything had melted by the time I had to leave.

The tempearture has dropped again tonight, but the skies are clear so I'm sure we're in for a heavy frost. It doesn't look like we'll have any more snow, but I think I'll leave the flakes here all the same. :spock:

9 thoughts on “Just when you thought it was safe to change your background

  1. That´s what it´s like living in a country with water all around. To rephrase Bob Dylan: "The weather it is a-changing".That´s the way in works here in Denmark, too.

  2. Duplo, Yeah it's great :rolleyes:Allan,The sun is blazing down at the moment, feels like spring.Isabel,It gave me a few chills too.

  3. Its strange, half the country brought to it knees by the snow, flights cancelled, roads closed & schools shutdown. And yet in places that didnt get any people are dissapionted…including me.I want me snow:(

  4. Hey Sprogger, Be careful what you wish for… It's all fun until you're housbound for days, or you get stuck in your car and die of hypothermia, or you have a heart attack from shovelling. Hopefuly it will never get as bad in Ireland as it used to get in Canada.Hello Deke, thanks for stopping by.

  5. I woke up to a white world.There were kids out there who'd never seen proper snow. Some of them were trying to make a snowball "Like the one on the BBC at Christmas".Somehow I couldn't bring myself to tell them that I didn't think there was quite enough snow for that.It comes to something when an old churl like me can't bring himself to put the kids of today straight about something…

  6. In all my years I have never seen snow that lasted more than a day or two at a time here in Galway, so i feel fairly safe in my wishes:D

  7. It's a marshmallow world in the winter — with the snow tumbling down!!Do you do the hot chocolate and marshmallow drinkees before the flaming coals???!

Leave a Reply

