Strange goings on in My Opera

Has anyone else noticed problems with the photo slideshow in blog sidebars?

Specifically, every time the photo changes a new copy is downloaded causing the page to constantly refresh.

It seems to have started a few days ago when a new server – storage9.myopera.com – was brought on-line.

It's only happening with Opera 9.21 too, when I try that :left: "other browser" :right: (the one that's now on version 7) the pages are fine. Sorry Stomyr 😦

For the moment, I've turned off my slideshow because I just find it too distracting.

Is anyone else experiencing problems? I thought there was a comment about it on Sarah's blog, but I can't find it now.

And if anyone from My Opera would care to comment that would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

38 thoughts on “Strange goings on in My Opera

  1. I experience numerous strange behaviours from Opera these days. Seems like we´re having yet another period with significant difficulties 😦

  2. mine is working normally, i think. it just keeps on rotating through all the albums. i think that's normal. i'm no expert to know what might be wrong. personally i don't want anything blinking on my screen. it's distracting and irritating. but this is smooth dissolves and doesn't bother me a bit.i did see someone complaining about someone else's slide show interfering with their concentration but i can't remember where it was either.

  3. I can browse normally without the pages "blinking" (as said by Dacotah) or "flashing" (as said by Sarah). I noticed that the load status bar keeps refreshing itself though but the pages I am viewing is just normal, so that's alrite by me.I used Safari (I am a MacHead) when Opera was down on Monday but I don't like how Opera pages look from that browser. The photos are stretched and made my page looked ugly. :p There were no problems loading pages though.Opera is still playing games with us?? I was absent for three days, so I'm probably not as updated as most. :p

  4. That's similar to waht's happening for me sugar. I'm using Opera – v9.22 now – and every few second the status bar will appear and the tab will show that the page is loading. The page looks ok but this constant reloading is distracting, and annoying :irked:I can't seem to find any "official" information on what problems My Opera might be having with the site. And it's frustrating to be kept in the dark.

  5. Oh well, they'll (Opera ppl) figure it out. I can't be bothered. And besides, if I AM bothered, what can I do?? I ain't no tech genius! I don't even know how to write my own CSS!! :lol:Somehow, what with the blogs and albums behaving weirdly, I'm afraid to say that if Opera continues to be crappy like this, I'm gonna have to go and blog somewhere else… 😦

  6. :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no:

  7. :lol:I don't wanna but Opera's done nothing except driving me sorta mad… Urrrrgh! What are they doing?? Some improvement stuff again…? If that's the case, then I'll bear with it but if it's just weird cos it's weird, I'm gonna have to move my blog elsewhere… 😦

  8. Well cannot say I have had any problems Mickey J,But then again I have not upgraded to 9.21 yet either.

  9. Hang in there sugar. This has happened before, and they got it sorted back then. I just wish that My Opera would give some indication that they are at least aware of the problem. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ What version are you using Duplo? This info could be useful for tracking down the bug. I started a thread over in the forums to see if I could find out anything more about what's going on.

  10. Thanks, I just assumed that it was the web site that was the problem, but if it's some combination of site and browser that could be useful to know.

  11. πŸ’‘ I just had a thought. Have you used any custom CSS on your blog Duplo? I'm wondering if that might be a factor too.

  12. hey mickey, haven't noticed anything wrong with my slideshow, but there've been a few 404s and server monkey messages – I think this has to do with the new beta webanalytics system they're rolling out…seems to have settled down now, though after a few days…Ya sugar, you listen to the irreverend, he knows what he's talking about one… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  13. What browser do you use hungry? I've been getting the odd random error too, but this refresh bug has been constant for about a week now.

  14. This has happened before?? :up: Cool, so they're experienced in fixing it, huh?? :up:Anyway, am blogging somewhere else all the time anyway. But they're mostly Opera's blogs brought over!! πŸ˜€

  15. Thanks Duplo, That's one thing we can eliminate as a factor. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Wow hungry. I'd tell you to update, but I guess you should wait until this bug is sorted. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Yeah sugar, hopefully they can solve this without too much trouble. Where is this other blog of yours?

  16. :lol:This other blog of mine is at Multiply. But u won't see much because it's a private blog. I like how I can control who can view my posts (even when they are ON my friends' list, I can opt for "individuals").That's why I say it's cool over at Multiply's for all these reasons but ppl here are cooler and funnier. :DPlus, there are smilies for blog comments here… πŸ™„

  17. It's true. I like chatting and commenting on blogs cos it's what I wanna do. Somehow, with Opera, I feel like it' what I HAVE to do! :lol:Anyway, Opera browser is lagging and very slow… Pssssst! I'm using Safari and it's loading faster!! :p

  18. heresy… just shows how smart you are. now opera will get wind of this and start trimming the fat.mickey joe…. excuse me for butting in.

  19. I forgive you sugar ;):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ You're grand ArtMan, the more the merrier. πŸ˜€

  20. :lol:I am using Opera today but I prefer the auto reloading after I comment on posts that Safari does but Opera doesn't… :(Damn… I have lost that lovin' feelin' I have for Opera!! πŸ˜₯ This was not supposed to happen!! I thought I found my soulmate when I found Opera last year!! :cry:p.s. Safari also does auto spell check for me! :eyes:

  21. c'mon sugar… we're not complaining.*this from the most notorious 'speelchecker' on earth.take your time… never hurry.when i have any doubt… i just minimize the page and enter it into my dictionery. if i come up with "never heard of it" i try another spelling until i hit the right one.

  22. πŸ˜€ I don't really need spell checks cos I used to be a writer before I lost my brain to alcohol… :lol:Mickey knows all about that! πŸ˜€ But it's just that I can't wait for Opera to be running smoothly again!! I miss using Opera!! πŸ˜₯

  23. Hi guys, The slideshow bug has been fixed, :hat: :yes: so I've turned mine back on. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ You know you can spellcheck within opera, see here.Once it's set up you just right click in any text box and choose Check Spelling off the menu. I use it all the time.

  24. i am glad to hear the report that the slideshow bug has been annihilated. the spell check….good to point that out. sometimes if i am reading someone's blog, i get so impatient with having to translate and i don't mean a foreign language… i mean the cute substitutions for english…. i just click it off. except for a few tried and true friends here who seem to glory in it. i will wade through their clever shortenings… as if it would take so much energy to just say it right… no doubt i am alone here. i don't have the time or the patience to learn this 'newspeak' which no doubt comes from the telephone mini users… that's o.k., i understand… a kind of shorthand… but i refuse to follow anything but good publishable english.so i never get to hear their message. o well…

  25. The thing about Macs is that spell check runs simultaneously with applications… :love: The thing with Macs is that Safari (the default browser) aren't liked much by some websites… πŸ˜₯

  26. That does sound handy sugar :up: There are times when I really miss a spell check in some windows programs. I did find one that works with that :left: other browser :right:

  27. Hey ArtMan, I know what you mean. Try to decrypt some of the leet speak out there would wreck the head. :faint:I had good english drilled into me from an early age. It comes from having a teacher for a mam.

  28. Only when I have no choice. 😦 There's a couple sites I use that just don't work in Opera. But I'm back to Opera for at least 95% of my browsing.

  29. :love: Good for u!! I am using Safari 100% now… :p That's cos Opera is having problems… I'll be back to using Opera 100% again when that's sorted… (Is it sorted out yet??)Anyway, how bout FF for an alternative?? Not IE, man… No… That's evil!! :insane:

  30. Never cared for FF, much prefer Opera. As far as I know it's working ok now, give it a try.

  31. I don't care for FF either but sometimes, when neither Safari nor Opera works, :down:, I use FF… Hardly ever though… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

