O

So I was trying to fill in a form on-line and it kept coming back to me saying that my PPSN was incorrect. I couldn't imagine how, I've been using the same number for years with out a problem. I even double checked my official card and another government document. I could not understand. :confused: And when I rang up to try and sort this out a rather rude woman insisted that I was making a mistake. Since she was obviously disinclined to assist me, I tried another tack.

Today I went down to the local government offices to see if they could help. Another much more helpful woman explained that the last character was not – as I had thought for years – a 0 (zero) but an O.

What else could I say but…

"Oh" :doh:

30 thoughts on “O

  1. I do that too! What does PPSN stand for? Some sort of security number.Some people, really, how do they hold on to their jobs when they are soooooooooooo unhelpful!!!!

  2. Yeah, it's like a social security number. If you click on it, that's a link tht explains exactly what it is.

  3. Oh, how do you put these cool links in, Mickeyjoe?Thanks for the link. I agree, zeroes should have slashes through them– great idea, hungryghost!

  4. There's a few ways you can do it Elly. When you're creating a post look for the button that looks like a globe with a chain in the bottom corner. If you put your mouse over it it should say "Insert Hyperlink"Click on that. A new box will appear asking for the text you want people to see – like PPSN – clikc OK and then another box will appear asking for the url you want the link to point to – http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/social-welfare/irish-social-welfare-system/personal_public_service_number . When you have that in click OK again and you should see something like this:

     [URL=http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/social-welfare/irish-social-welfare-system/personal_public_service_number]PPSN[/URL] 

    You can also highlight text that you have already typed in and click the button. Then it will just ask you for the url.Once you get used to how it works you can type it in manually, which is what you have to do in comments like this.

  5. Yeah hungry, I was looking at my card after. As far as I can see the same character is used for a 0 and an O. Very confusing. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ It still does Allan 😀

  6. I guess some systems are more forgiving than others. I tried to call 1-800-EARTHINK. I didn't count the letters, I just dialed it from my cell phone. Never worked. Tried the house phone and it was fine. Cell phones get upset if you punch in too many numbers. We can only use a 1, then 3 digit area code and 7 digit phone number.

  7. Like I said this was the first time I'd ever had any problem with the last character. But then I'd never been typing it in before. I'd either be handwriting on a paper form, reciting it to a person (and then I usually say "O" instead of zero), or swiping my card. Ah well, it's sorted now. 🙂

  8. sorted – love the use of this word – nobody over here understands it unless they're from the UK

  9. yesh, I've been using sorted as much as I can. And speaking of sorted, Saskatchewan in the latest post has also been sorted… :whistle:

  10. okay, how about I throw in an apology and a saskatchewan berry pie and a box of pancake mix?

  11. Yeah sprogger, no problem for U 😀 ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ O hungry, what are U playing at? 🙄 ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Unfortunately Elke, it's my "number" and I'm stuck with it. I don't think there's any way to change it.

  12. Confusion.I agree with Hungry (before he started drinking… and even after), that your use of "sorted" is fabulous. Spot on! (Another of my favorite's)

Leave a Reply

