Tea and Sympathy

I do NOT need this right now. :irked:

I'm supposed to be studying for the Christmas exams, but I woke up Saturday morning feeling like death warmed over. :yuck:

Stuffed up, achy, and I think somebody has been at the inside of my throat with a Brillo pad. Of course the last thing I feel like doing is cracking a book.

Anyway, misery loves company and I sense a certain ennui present in the OC. So there's a brew on and coffee too. Pull up a chair and tell us your troubles. :coffee:

34 thoughts on “Tea and Sympathy

  1. Oh, this time of year is always difficult for me…I try my best to change my thoughts about it but it doesn't seem to work. Not easy being Bridget Jones at Xmas. Hope you're feeling better soon…LWU may work her magic on you. :heart:

  2. Sorry to hear that :(Me, my itching throat woke me up in the middle of the night, last night but fortunately this morning I was ok. I will keep my fingers crossed, everyone is sick around me :worried:

  3. Sorry to hear you are sick. :(Try these: a chickensoup and after that a cocktail with juice of oranges, lemon, carrots and ananas. In addition an aspirin pill will work too.I hope you get well very soon! :heart:

  4. Oh, no, now I have gone and caught it! WAAAAW!Let's both get well! I send healing thoughts and best wishes!I know you will ACE your exams! Go to it, Mickey!

  5. hey mickey – sorry to hear you're not doing well – I hope you're better soon!Cold and dark here and although not sick myself, there's a sense of ennui (as you said) which seems to have settled over this city. :yuck:

  6. Thanks for the suggestions everyone, unfortunately most involve swallowing which is no fun at all at present. But enough about me. I put this up so that the rest of you could come and gripe about your own problems. Lets all have a moan together. πŸ˜€

  7. Here's the story so far in all it's gory detail. I did my exams on Monday and Tuesday and despite not having much study done I think I did ok. It's surprising how it comes back to you when you start writing. Unfortunately, when I got home on Tuesday afternoon I was not feeling well at all, I took some medicine I'd picked up from the pharmacy and went to bed, but I woke up later feeling seriously sick. It was so bad that I rang the Caredoc and they told me to get myself into hospital straight away. So I was into A&E / Casualty / ER where they ran tests, took blood, etc. Thankfully, it wasn't as bad as everyone (including me) first thought. After I'd been seen by the doctor and my blood work had come back they gave me a handful of pills (painkillers, antibiotics, etc.) and sent me home. The pills didn't get much chance to work as I was sick on the way home, and a few more times on Wednesday morning. I couldn't keep a pill down, much less food. I didn't even think about the exam I was missing. Eventually though my stomach settled and I was able to have some dry toast and take my prescriptions. I was feeling well enough this morning to go in for today's exam, even though I hadn't prepared at all. I don't think I did too badly though. It did take a lot out of me. I'm feeling pretty wrecked at the minute. One last exam tomorrow and it's not 'til 1400, so I should be recovered enough to make that. I do have a paper due as well. I wrote the instructor to tell him the situation. I might get an extension, but it's only a small part of a bigger project so I'm not going to worry about it.

  8. I hope you're not as bad as I am, Elly. For my throat the doctor gave me Disprin to use as a gargle. I don't know if you can get it in the States, but he also said that warm water with salt would help too.

  9. Bugger! that dont sound good at all:(Best of luck with your Exam tomorrow, we`ll be thinking of you

  10. Well, exams are over :hat: Overall I feel I did ok, better than I was expecting to, considering.And I got an extension on my paper. ( Though I'm still not sure if I'll do it. :left: :right: )Going to try and take a couple days to recover. I have another paper to do over the holidays. :yuck:And if I don't get it done before Xmas and my brother's visit…

  11. Oh my! This is not a little cold!!Congrats for being able to go through your exams despite your condition :up:Now, try to rest!

  12. Recovering, but it's slow going. Still very stuffed up and scratchy throat, :yuck: and not much energy yet. :zzz:

  13. πŸ™„ Yes Mother, I mean Elly. :p:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks Kay. I don't feel that sick now, as such, just really TAT (Tired All the Time). Hope I can finally shake it off before Christmas.

  14. Exams are over *hi5* :DGood to hear that you're feeling better now :)What's a brillo pad? The thing you scrub plates with?

  15. Thanks Kim. That's the one. Here they're made from steel wool and are impregnated with soap too. Good for scrubbing those burnt pots. :yuck:

  16. Ohh ok. We have them here too, but I think you have to supply your own soap. :yuck: Scrubbing burnt pots is not good! Same goes for scrubbing semolina in saucepans!

  17. Sorry, never heard of them/him. "Tea and Sympathy" is just an expression I've seen used.

Leave a Reply

