Enquiring minds want to know…

How did Mick break his hand? …

Honestly, it was pretty stupid. :doh:

I was in the new shopping centre in Kilkenny the day after St. Stephen's / Boxing day checking out the sales.

I was upstairs in one of the shops just getting ready to come down the steps and not paying attention because I was sending a text message at the same time. :clown:

So I slipped or tripped, and to save myself from falling I made a grab for the handrail. I did rescue myself from a nasty fall, but as I grabbed I heard something go "crack" :yikes:

Later I met Mam for coffee in a pub and she had a look the hand while I iced it in a pint of water.

Can you move your fingers? :up:

Can you make a fist? :up:

I don't think it's broken, maybe just sprained.

Hey, she's my mother and a former nurse, why wouldn't I believe her?

So the next day I drove to Dublin to collect my brother and his fiancΓ©e from the airport. :faint:

A bit sore yes, but I managed. The next day though, my hand was worse so my loving family dumped me at A&E / Casualty / the ER and went off visiting. :irked:

(Ok, I didn't mind and they did come back for me πŸ˜€ )

I think you know the rest of the story. A week after my first hospital visit I got a new cast and that's been my life since.

So now you know. :spock:

21 thoughts on “Enquiring minds want to know…

  1. So that's how it happened!!I wondered how u broke yr arm too but I forgot to ask… I always forget things, don't I? I think I forgot to wear pants this morning too… That's probably why my butt feels cold!! πŸ˜†

  2. Ouch!never mind, maybe you can get lots of cool signatures on your cast and snap a picky!Hope all goes better with you MIckey!

  3. Nobody seems that interested in signing my cast, hungry, including me.Besides it will probably come off at the end of the week anyway.

  4. Mickey!! But u dress me in the mornings!! Why didn't u do yr job properly this morning…? :cry:Oh… The arm… Sorry, I forgot! :pAnyway, is it getting better already?? :worried:

  5. So that is the whole story. Not only are stairs dangerous, but those darn texting phones love to trip people up!!!!!!It is good your mam is a nurse — that is like being a Marine, i.e., once a nurse, always a nurse!!!!Even moms make mistakes now and then. :smile:Now is the time for you to work on becoming more ambidexterous! You can do it!!!I send you healing thoughts! Chin up, as they say!

  6. Thanks Elly, at this point I'm ready to learn to be left handed so they can just cut the right one off.Unfortunately, that WOULD mean another trip to the doctor πŸ™„

  7. Ow ow ow ow. Sorry to hear the news. I was in a cast once when I was a kid–it's certainly a drag. Get better soon!

  8. You must have a high pain tolerance. I slipped on some ice a couple of years ago and got a hairline fracture of my wrist and it REALLY HURT. There was absolutely no way I could have waited a day to have it xrayed.

  9. Grrr technology!I know a guy who was playing volleyball, fell over and used his arm to break his fall…but crushed his arm instead.Get well soon! πŸ˜€

  10. The sound, the "crack", of a breaking bone is unforgettable horrible. πŸ˜₯ I know that, when I broke my ankle a few years ago…Furthermore: a fast recovery to you! :heart: πŸ™‚

  11. Thanks everyone. :love::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Spooksis – Right now I wish my pain tolerance was a bit higher :(:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:San – Never underestimate my capacity for stupidity :clown::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Elke – it's never a good sound :down:

  12. :confused: I don't think it was that good really. I suppose it was a relief to get rid of the cast that was causing me such grief, but my hand still hurts and I had a rough night, couldn't get comfortable.Sorry to be such a whiner 😦

  13. Oh, whine all u want… You're in pain!! *HUGZ*That was a pretty bad fall to have caused u so much pain for such a long time…

Leave a Reply

