The Bumper Edition

Lots to get through so I'll just dive in …


La Fhéile Bhride – St. Brigid's Day

St. Brigid was born in Faughart, Co. Louth to a pagan father Dubhthach and a Christian mother Brocessa. She was later Abbess of the monastery at Cill Dara (Kildare) “the Church of the Oak”. She begged some land from the King of Leinster to found her monastery and he promised her as much land as her cloak would cover. She laid her cloak down and it covered the whole of the plains of Kildare and Leighlin.

Tradition tells us that as Brigid explained the passion and death of Christ to the dying pagan chieftain she took some rushes from the floor of the bothan and fashioned a cross. The Old Irish custom of placing a St. Brigid's cross over the doors of dwelling houses and animal shelters thus began. People believed that in so doing Brigid would look after their households and stock and that full and plenty would be theirs in the year ahead.

Brigid died on February 1st 525 and her remains were taken to Downpatrick, Co. Down to be buried with St. Patrick. She is the patroness of Ireland.

St. Brigid's day was on Friday, and I did a bit of tech work for the parish. Scanning in the image of herself to make candle labels and doing up leaflets about Brigid's cross. They were selling candles and crosses after mass to fundraise for charity.

Some information and images from Wikipedia.

The Weather

We Sing A Song To Brigid

Chorus
We sing a song to Brigid
Brigid brings the spring
Awakens all the fields and the flowers
And calls the birds to sing

I hope they were singing good and loud because this has been the our weekend.



Now I'm not one to point fingers as to the cause, but I do have my suspicions. :whistle:

Tagged Repeatedly

By Words, Elke, and Marie

These are the rules:

*Link to the person that tagged you.

*Post the rules on your blog.

*Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself.

*Tag six random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs.

*Let each random person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their website.

I'll be lucky if I can come up with six total, much less six apiece but here goes:

  • As a child I was bitten by a camel.
  • While I like all pets and they like me, I would consider myself a cat-person.
  • I'm much happier staying up late at night than getting up early in the morning.
  • I'm a big fan of animated films, particularly ones by PIXAR, Aardman, and Studio Ghibli.
  • According to my Belbin Team Role Profile , my strengths are as a Teamworker, Implementer, and Completer Finisher.
  • I'll be going back to Vancouver this summer. (In about 150 days, I wonder why? 😉 )

I'm sure everyone has been tagged already by now. But if you're reading this and feeling left out, consider yourself IT.

The Irish Have A Way With Words

In the past week I heard two expressions that really caught my ear.

One from an ad off the radio:

He had a face that would turn a funeral down a side street.

And the other from my cousin. Describing her young son being difficult:

He wouldn't lead nor drive.

And Finally

You'll all be happy to hear that I'm feeling much better. I'm totally over the stomach bug and my hand is hardly bothering me at all. :yes:

25 thoughts on “The Bumper Edition

  1. Good to hear you are feeling better. Being sick really sucks! Lovely photos – especially liked the one with the falling snow.

  2. Do you have instructions on how to weave a St. Brigid's cross? Those expressions are really cool and funny!I love cats, too; but to be honest, never had a dog so don't know if I am a dog person; although cousins dogs like me a lot and I like them.I love animated films, too. Howl's Moving Castle is amazing!:up:Vancouver, another family reunion or are you marrying San?Should I tease you? Creator bless you! Meet her for a romantic dinner!

  3. Happy ST. Brigid's Day! It is cold and full of snow here. The groundhog came out yesterday and I don't know what it did. Now there are two vieing (groundhogs) to be the forecaster, one male and one female.Is St. Brigid also known as Bride?

  4. Happy St. Brigid's Day. I didn't know there was such a day, but I am happy to help anyone celebrate! :wine: :wine: :wine: :wine:

  5. :eyes: Snow in Ireland? I think that is quite unusual. But maybe it gives you the feeling to be in Canada. 😀

  6. Ah, there are Saints Days for every day! Micky_Joe, I'm glad you're over your illness, and that your hand isn't bothering you! 😀 :hat:

  7. What is next for Mick? I vote for good times!Thanks for the instructions.So, Olympics in Vancouver for you?Or your brother's wedding?

  8. I think you made a bigger deal than they do here Kay. I only mentioned it because of the job I was doing and because we always get a Brigid's cross for the house and one to send to my brother.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:It is unusual Elke, and it mostly gives me the feeling of being bloody freezing ;):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks Dennis. Life is still throwing me curve balls, but that's another story.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:You're welcome Elly. :)This summer would be a little early for the Olympics (That's 2010)So it must be the other reason 😀

  9. Thanks Kim.No 🙄 I never had a pet camel. It happened at a zoo.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:You too hungry,But who provoked OPS, hmmm? 😀

  10. Ah now, I know it wasn't intentional. :angel: You just don't realize how far-reaching your joss sticks are. And thanks, we're so happy for him and his fiancée :love:

  11. Absolutely San, looking forward to seeing you and hungry again :yes::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Quit trying to pass the buck hungry.And thanks. But, despite his size, he's my "little" brother. 😉

  12. I remember spending far too much time in school learning how to make those crosses. Dont remember any of it now though:)Good to hear your on the road to recovery.. and Vancouver.:up:

  13. Thanks guys. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I don't like to talk about it hungry. Still holds a lot of bad memories :zip:

  14. "He had a face that would turn a funeral down a side street"I will remember that one 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

