Batten Down the Hatches

March is definitely coming in like a lion. …

First I got welcomed to the new month with a load of snow.

Then Sarah got hit. Snow? In Texas? :faint:

And it looks like Louis is in the middle of a blizzard. :yuck:

Now, here in Ireland, we have this to look forward to.

Normally, I like where I'm living (great view :yes: ) but the house is on top of a hill at the end of a valley, so the wind gets funnelled right into us. I'll have to go out and make sure that things are secure before the storm hits. πŸ™„

Funny thing, it's actually a lovely morning. But I guess it's "the calm before the storm".

23 thoughts on “Batten Down the Hatches

  1. We had snow here about an hour ago, sun is shining down now though.By the looks of what is due tonight it could be time to dig out some candles.:eyes: gusts of 170!!!

  2. Hang in there sprogger, it looks like you'll be getting the brunt of it. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Let's hope everyone makes it through safe and sound Cap'n.

  3. Looks like we are going to miss out on it here in the Midlands but I have freinds in West Wales and the South west that i will be thinking of iff the storm is as bad as they say it is going to be

  4. I wish my camera was working! The skies are grey here but it's definitely spring. I'm glad I don't live back east anymore.

  5. Wow, I didn't realize you guys got such drastic weather every year; I thought last year was an anomally.Take Care, MJ and Sprogger!

  6. Good luck to you and your family! It is snowing and windy here; but it is melting quickly.Panda left for Texas today, she is on her friend's mom's ranch. I hope it is warm there.

  7. Thanks, it's started now. :worried: But it doesn't sound too bad out there :left: touch wood :right:

  8. And good luck to you and yours Elly. I'm sure she'll be fine. :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Hope so Kim. The last really bad winds, about a year ago, took a couple tiles off the roof. We also have some dead trees at the bottom of the garden that could blow over :yikes:It doesn't help that I don't like high winds. :worried: Comes from growing up in tornado country.

  9. Crazy weather eh? If your house is on top of a hill and is still there, I think it should be fine πŸ™‚ Right?

  10. We have a big gum tree in our front yard and my dad wanted to take off one branch because it was hanging over our house. The tree guy came around and told us that it's a 'significant tree' (meaning more than 2m base circumference) and that if we touch it we'll get fined $100,000!!! Guess whose room is right under the tree? Lucky me…

  11. Eeek, snow everywhere…I hope it's gone soon. Tell you what, how about I rent a car and drive senselessly around to help warm up the atmosphere so that the snow melts soon πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  12. It's partly my fault. I got rid of my big polluting car and got a fuel efficient cleaner small one. But I think it's HG's fault even more…not using enough plastic bags, riding his bike everywhere, and growing too many plants.

  13. On the news they were talking about it, but it was all about England. You wont lose any roof tiles Mickey ;)We don't get REALLY bad storms and no damage has ever been done to our house. We get quite a bit of hot weather in Summer though.

  14. Just on the radio – apparently we didn't get the full force of the storm. It missed us to the south.There are advantages to being a "small island nation." :DThough it sounds like it hit England instead. 😦

  15. Well, made it through ok. Sounds like it was the coasts that got the worst of it. The news says there's flooding in Cork and Waterford. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:That is worrying Kim, do you get bad storms? Or just hot, hot weather?:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I dunno guys. :confused: It may stop the snow, but it could cause more storms like this one. This whole climate change thing is complicateed.

  16. You sure do Kim :eyes: I've been reading your recent posts. Too hot can be dangerous too.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I don't think it got as bad as that Louis, but then the worst of the storm missed us. The weather is still not great though, and there are more storm warnings tonight about coastal areas – 120kph winds and dangerous seas.

  17. Well, last night seemed worse to me and you could see more evidence of the winds today (broken branches on the roads). I think the weather will improve now.

  18. Good to hear that, because as of this morning we have had a nearly total white out lasting for most of the day…I mean I know the situation is bad when the police up here starts clearing the roads and closing down traffic.took me nearlyu two hours to make it to work, in stead of the usual 15 minutes.

  19. We get some old people who don't like spending money so they sit in the hot and don't drink. Then they get to go on holiday to the hospital.How is your roof holding up?

  20. Whoops, meant to get a reply posted sooner than this :oThe house is fine, no damage that I could see. The weather since has been pretty good. (For Ireland, in early spring) And for a change Paddy's day has been dry, but cold.

Leave a Reply

