For Your Paddy’s Day Viewing Pleasure



Lá Fhéile Pádraig Sona Daoibh… Happy St. Patrick's Day!

A post by Melissa got me thinking about Irish films and films set in Ireland. Here's a few that I think you'd enjoy.

So, in no particular order

Films I'd Personally Recommend

Films I Haven't Seen But Have Heard Good Things About

And finally, a couple of short films that are favourites of mine. And you can see them right here on the web.

You might also be interested if you've never heard Irish spoken.

Yu Ming Is Ainm Dom

Fluent Dysphasia

I'm sure I've left out plenty more. So if you have any you want to add, or you've got something to say about my list please leave a comment.

25 thoughts on “For Your Paddy’s Day Viewing Pleasure

  1. Hear My SongWonderful movie – love the scene when they drop the rock into the well to see how deep it is only to find that the rock is attached to a chain attached to a cow…and that the well is buh-loody deep!Happy St. Paddy's!

  2. Sure was hungry, look at the argument they were able to have while it was falling. :DMy favorite scene was when Joe Locke and the female lead's mother are having a deep heart-to-heart. You think it's just the soundtrack playing in the back ground. Then the camera pans over and you see Joe's band has been there playing the whole time.And how can you not love a film with lines like this 😀

    Micky O'Neill: You're drivin' like a madman. Gordon: You think this is bad? You should see me when I'm on me own! Micky O'Neill: Sure I'd hate to be with you when you're on your own.

  3. hoooo, what a great list.I'm quite sure I know some of the movie. The problem is, the movies get other titles, when showing in the German TV. So I'll have to research…

  4. If you click on the name Elke, it will take you to the IMDB page for the movie. I noticed that often lists other titles.

  5. I loved the two short films, especially the 2nd one..What could be worst than speaking Gaelic: speaking French! :p

  6. Dont forget Dead Meat an Irish Zombie flickor Zombie Genocideor Boy eats girlWho would have thought we had somany zombie films made here:D:alien: Happy Belated Paddys Day :yuck:

  7. :doh: Thanks for pointing those out sprogger. I'm not into zombie movies so I completely forgot about them. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I know how it is Elke, I wanted to watch The Quiet Man or The Field on St. Patrick's Day, but I didn't have the time.

  8. What was the Irish movie about bank hold up with fat guy and slime guy and both not very smart but they mange to pull it off and try out run the law but at end they end up in jail and some how they escape

  9. Can you remember any more about it? Names of the actors, when it was in cinemas? I'm curious now.

  10. Hmmm, there doesn't seem to be another of his films that matches your description. I'm stumped.

  11. This post changed since i was here last.I see rat on the list of films you havent seen yet, DO!!

  12. I'm keeping an eye out for it. It does look good. (Apparently is was on TV3 over the Paddy's Day weekend, but I missed it. :doh: )

Leave a Reply

