Flying the Flag

Tomorrow Kilkenny will play Waterford in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling* Final.

For Ireland this is like the Superbowl, World Series, Premiership, and Grey Cup final all rolled into one. So naturally the entire county is excited. As you can see.

More images in the album.

UP THE CATS !!!!

*In case you have no idea what hurling is.

EDIT:

Seems some people πŸ˜‰ want a little more information on hurling. So here's a series from YouTube.

EDIT 2:

I should also mention that Kilkenny are in the final for the Minor Championship as well, against Galway.

COME ON THE DOUBLE!!!!

EDIT 3:

Another victory for Kilkenny hurlers :hat: The All-Ireland Under 21 Championship.

UP THE CATS !!!!

31 thoughts on “Flying the Flag

  1. That's so great. I know nothing whatsoever about the sport – but your entry made me ask wikipedia, and now a know a bit. I generally like to be acquainted with non-mainstream sports. Very interesting indeed.

  2. I added some videos to the main post which should help people to understand the game. Go check them out :up::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Watching the minor match as I'm typing. It's tied – Kilkenny 1-2 Galway 0-5.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Like any sport clean, there are injuries. :p

  3. Final Score for the minorsKilkenny 3-06(15), 0-13(13) GalwayGalway lead for most of the second half, but we got a point and then a last minute goal. Overall I have to say that Galway seemed to play better, we got lucky with scoring opportunities.

  4. 21 minutes in the 1st halfKilkenny 2-10(16), 0-04(4) WaterfordThe seniors can't seem to stop scoring.

  5. 48 minutes playedKilkenny 3-20(29), 0-08(8) WaterfordI think it's all over but the shouting now.

  6. Final ScoreKilkenny 3-30(39), 1-13(16) WaterfordHonestly, that's not how I like to see us win. I feel sorry for Waterford. 😦

  7. Yeah :up: They way they can ballance the ball on the end the hurl while running on full pelt. :eyes:

  8. (Obviously – figuring I knew everything – I neglected to initially look at the links you provided as to what hurling was about and, instead, assumed it was the Scottish sport of khyber-tossing. My bad. Apologies for that. Now I'm only a 99.99% know-it-all. πŸ™„ πŸ˜† )

  9. Way cool! Is there an internet channel where we can watch this, or a feed? Ireland should lobby to have this be an olympic sport! Here, I hurling means to vomit, as in "I feel like I am going to hurl.""He is hurling in the bathroom." :lol:Now, I can say it is a sport and mystify everyone!Hope your county wins! Thanks for sharing this. I want to go buy a hurl now and get one for Karl and see what we can do. πŸ˜† Looks like you really have to be fit to play.I enjoyed how the narrator was saying how brave the players have to be. That ball must be very hard.Does it really hurt people's backs?

  10. I don't know Elly, I suppose you could try the RTE website. Seemed like there was loads of videos on YouTube too. Seems like there are Irish pubs all over the world that will show the big matches, like the All-Ireland, for the ex-pats. That might be a place to try. We did win! :hat: That makes 3 championships in a row and gives us the record for most championships won, 31.Oh yes, hurlers are incredible athletes. And the lads in the championship will have played since the could hold a hurley. But the thing I find most amazing is that they are all amateurs, they don't get paid to play. Hurling can be a dangerous sport. The ball is hard like a baseball and they can really get it moving. I've seen them fire it from one end of the field to another, that's over 300 feet.It's not the ball so much as the other players. They go around smashing into each other like hockey players, but without all the padding. And when they are chasing the ball, it's easy to get a knock from hurley – accidentally or otherwise. :whistle:

  11. πŸ˜† Ah no, I wouldn't have anywhere near the skills or fitness. It's hard to explain just how obsessed some folks are. You'd have to have been playing since childhood to match most players, because that's what they've done. But I've been to a few matches and watched loads of games on telly. Plus all my Irish relatives are hurling fanatics, so I've learned plenty from talking to them.

  12. Hey, nothing wrong with watching only! The hurlers do need an audience.No wonder the narrator calls all these fellows "brave"! Such a rough game. Looks worse than American football in terms of the ability to be injured…

  13. I think the main thing is the lack of protective gear. The players are only required to wear helmets. (Some do wear shin guards.) And even then, at Senior level the helmets are optional. Though recently they have been encouraging the older lads to all wear helmets as an example to the young players.

Leave a Reply

