Greetings from the frozen wastes of

Ireland :confused:

We've been in the grips of an hard stretch of winter weather with nearly a week of daily snow falls. Most unusually it hasn't been melting, but has just hung around getting deeper.

It has caused major disruption all over the east of the country, particularly transportation – roads and Dublin airport being the most prominent. The worst, personally, has been the roads. Last week it was snowing every morning when I woke up and I had to crawl down the back lanes where I live to reach a major road to get to college.

It finally broke on Friday, which I had off, and yesterday was clear though the roads were only half thawed and very slippery.

This morning the snows came again. At least it's melting on the same day.

For the minute it's clear, though there may be more snow in the morning. I'll keep you posted.

26 thoughts on “Greetings from the frozen wastes of

  1. I was thinking the same thing San. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Come now hungry, a minor annoyance at most. We have gotten of lightly compared to some areas. There were people on the radio talking of being stranded at home because of the icy roads.

  2. Hmmm oh Sir Mick i will link your post to my 'Hot and Cold weather! Thanks for info oh beautiful pictures :up: :yes:

  3. Really Allan :confused: According to our weather all this snow had been coming from the east ie. from you. :left: :right::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:You're welcome Leazz, thanks for adding me to your post. 🙂

  4. it's still evil even if it doesn't affect one personally – I bet those poor people who're stuck becausd of ice would agree with me…

  5. I see! According to my information, you had it from your southeast – from Central Europe – and now it continues the rotation and hits us in the neck.I wouldn't mind if it didn't, though.

  6. Then it's the fates that are evil hungry. The weather is still just a tool.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I didn't realize that it was looping back Allan, I thought it just died out somewhere over the Atlantic. I find it worrying that this snow has been coming from the "wrong" direction. Generaly we get our climate from the west off the Gulf Stream.

  7. oh! I love snow! though it may be a little troublesome to transporting, but … well, still I love snow! :p

  8. And hardly a flake fell over Galway, Damn.The cold dosent agree with me but I would love a chance to take a few photos of snow.

  9. The west did get off lightly this time. It's mostly melted now, but there's still patches left. I don't know sprogger, while I know you'd take some great pictures I wouldn't wish this weather on you. It's been some of the coldest weather so far this winter and getting around hasn't been easy.

  10. Yuck. I don't like snow. It was snowing today in France…and one piece of snow went into my eye! 😦 I guess snow doesn't like me either.The worst thing is when it is slippery!

  11. It has been slippery Kimbers. If you think it's fun when you're walking, you should try it when you're driving.The weather has really changed, back to typically Irish. :yuck: It was cold and grey all day with showers of rain. The snow is gone now, except for one stretch of road that the sun doesn't reach. That can't last.

Leave a Reply

