St Patrick’s Day at the Seaside

I hoped that I would be able to post this yesterday, but the server monkeys weren't having it. I spent most of the evening uploading my photos. :irked: By the time I had that finished it was bedtime. :zzz: …


St. Patrick's Day this year made a pleasant change from previous ones, the weather was perfect. So nice that Mam and I decided to head for Dunmore East and see the sea.

The trip down was interesting. We got diverted by the parade in Waterford city and got to drive through parts of the town I'd never seen before. :hat:

Eventually though, we made it to the beach.

Not long after we we stepped out on to the strand a Coast Guard helicopter flew overhead.

It might have been out for the parade, because it made several passes overhead. But then again it seemed to be too quick to get to Waterford and back.

Other fliers were taking it easy.

I don't know if the beach had a name, maybe it was mussel beach.

Dunmore is a very quaint little village, with its thatched cottages

We decided to investigate the rest of the village. We came at it from a different road than the one Mam knows and so learned there was a whole part of Dunmore she'd never seen.

Up the road was Stony Cove

Up the road… and down the cliff

Some brave lads were out swimming

I wonder why they call it Stony Cove?

The trouble with walking down to a beach is that you have to walk back up again. :faint:

Further on was the harbour. I'd love to know how they go that boat up there, and how they plan to get it into the water again.

Others were more interested in checking who was out and about.

More photos in the album

Lá Fhéile Pádraig Sona Daoibh…

Happy St. Patrick's Day!

16 thoughts on “St Patrick’s Day at the Seaside

  1. This is all nice. Thanks for the tour!I really like the old thatched houses. I'd bet they need a lot of maintenance all the time; could be quite demanding living in one of those.

  2. Lovely tour there Mickey…"I do want to be beside the seaside, I do want to be by the sea…" :sing:

  3. Lesia writes:

    Cool Mike.Looks like you guys had some GREAT weather!! So nice! I'd love to go to the coast of Ireland again.. that trip sure was nice when we went… ahh the memories!

  4. And hello to you missus, nice of you to stop by. :love: Next time you're over we'll have to pay another visit.

  5. Thanks Leazz, you too.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Now that could be interesting, I'm thinking of a Eurythmics style version.

  6. well, she actually had it on the end of the album, Diva, it was kind of the close out of the album, done in a scratchy gramohpone style if you know aht I eman

Leave a Reply

