The Irish have a way with words

The latest in what's turning into a continuing series …


As you may, or may not, know I'm on a work placement at the moment. Since I have extra money coming in I've been thinking that I will change my car sometime before I go back to college. I'd like to get something with similar room to what I have now, but my choices are limited by my budget.

I went to a cousin for some advice since he's owned one of the cars I was looking at. He dismissed it as generally good, but getting poor mileage. He gave me a few suggestions about other makes and models. From my research, I think most of those would be out of my price range.

I was talking about it with Mam, going through my options, and she came out with this

Sometimes you have to cut your shirt to fit your cloth.

10 thoughts on “The Irish have a way with words

  1. I had to think about that for a minute! 😆 I guess that's what I did when I bought my car, a cheaper version of the Yaris. Not an easy choice, good luck.

  2. Toyota's are great, all round Allan. :up: My first car was a Corolla. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Me too San. 😀 It's a very unusual expression, but sums up the situation perfectly. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Of course Angleiki, I'll want to let the OC know about my new wheels.

  3. That's usually how it works. I know loads of people who prefer one brand of car because that's what they own and they keep buying the same.

  4. Still looking hungry. I need to save a bit before I get serious.Don't worry, I'll let the OC know what's happening when things do start happening.

  5. my sis just bought a beetle (red) for mum and dad as a surprise…shhhH! photos to come eventually…

Leave a Reply

