A step in the right direction

only 9,999 to go. …

Originally posted by sanshan:

The ghost of Walky says, "Walk Irreverand walk."

And I really should, for the following reasons:

  1. I've gotten fat.
  2. I'm in terrible condition.
  3. I'm being treated for high blood pressure.

The final push came last week when work launched a new walking path around the site, tied in with the 10,000 steps challenge. So with my free pedometer I did a lap at lunch and another after work.

Then Saturday I did my usual running around Kilkenny for my shopping and errands.

Sunday was, literally, a washout. Headed to Heywood Gardens with the best intentions but totally unprepared for the rain which started to bucket down about ten minutes after arriving and continued for the rest of the day.

Today, I did another lap after work and headed out again after supper to try and get my quota. I still have not managed the full 10,000 but I'm getting closer. Stay tuned.

21 thoughts on “A step in the right direction

  1. That's good to hear San:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Well :whistle: I have yet to manage the full 10000 in one day et Sarah. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thank you Kiyoko, I will :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:It's a fair few Allan. I can manage the first 5000 or so easily enough, between the walking I do at work and the lap I do on the path before I go home. It's the second 5000 that gives me trouble. Once I get home and all I want to do is relax and watch some telly. :(:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks sprogger, could still be better though.

  2. Walk, walk, walk.You can make the walks more interesting by bringing your flame thrower along and scaring the living daylights out of squirrels…Just a suggestion… :whistle:

  3. Only way to do it sprogger. ;):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:And on clean.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Hungry, hungry, hungry :rolleyes:I hate to disappooint you, but squirrels at rare in these parts. I cant' remember the last time I saw one. :p

  4. you truly live in paradise then!Hmmm. I always thought St. Patrick cast out snakes, not squirrels….

  5. Ireland has its charms, but so does Vancouver. :)And there are squirrels, :no: just not around here.

  6. As I was walking to swimming at 5:30 this morning, I saw an EBS with its brains all oozing out on the pavement. Oh yeah, the crows were having breakfast too. :yuck:Ok. Not sure why I posted that, what does that have to do with walking?However, walking leads to fitness and fitness leads to running and running leads to participating in a half marathon with Sanny an' Hungry. 🙄

  7. If you say so hungry, I still can't see why EBSs and so E.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Not sure either, you do see all sorts of things while you're walking? And that seems to be how I see a lot of wildlife here. :(Half marathon, one of these days :up:never been keen on running though :down:Would you settle for me bringing up the rear?

  8. I'll play Ronan loudly to keep you running…la la laand somethings are simply evil…squirrels simply are.

  9. Hey, if you decide to do it, I'll be right there with you. We'll walk a minute, run a minute! And stop to smell the roses along the way in memory of Walky. 😀

Leave a Reply

