Hail the Conkerers


Hello,

Once again I feel I have to apologise for not being around as much as I would like. As usual college is keeping me busy. But it's reading week and a long weekend to boot so I have a little (too little really :whistle: ) time.

And what does a Canadian in Ireland do when he has some time off and it's the October Bank Holiday?

He goes to the Conker Festival of course. 😉

Held in Freshford

The chestnuts for the competition are provided by 52 Horse Chestnut trees that surround the village green, which produce 30,000 conkers.

Here's some of them.

I'm sure you're wondering what exactly conkers are at this point. Luckily, but not surprisingly, Wikipedia has an article.

A couple of competitors

Aside from the championship there were other games


And crafts


These lads

started a mini-company selling slate crafts as part of their transition year.

The Kilkenny Flower Club were exhibiting in St. Lachtain's Church

which is famous for its 12th century carved sandstone entry.

A good day out, aside from the weather. Tomorrow? Back to the grind.

10 thoughts on “Hail the Conkerers

  1. Nice! Hey, MickyJoe: we know you're busy, I always like reading your posts even though I don't always comment. 🙂

  2. Of course you would know the Beano version hungry. I grew up with the American one. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:You're welcome Leazz. Thanks for visiting.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Hi Dennis. Y'know, the first time I read hungry's comment I thought he was talking about you. 😆

Leave a Reply

