Somebody ring Noah

We might have a job for him. …

What a week – rain, rain , and more rain. :down: Today was the worst, it absolutely bucketed down all day.

I had to go to town, I'd been putting it off all week. While the roads were pretty wet they didn't seem particularly bad, I've seen worse. I made it to town OK and it did eventually easy off. When I headed home though I got stopped by the fire brigade. My route home, and all the other routes were flooded out. :no:

Nothing to do but go back into town and wait for it to clear. 😦 They said it would be 2-3 hours so I called over to my aunt. She was on her way out to supper with her daughter who was visiting from England, but said I could stay as long as I liked. So I had a cup of tea :coffee: upgraded her anti-virus, and installed a few other updates while I waited. :wait:

By the time I had all that done, it was 4 hours later so I headed out again. The road was open :hat: but you could see where the flood had left muck and stones on the road. Further on I met fog 🙄 and some more flooding :irked: but nothing that was impassable.

I hope the weather improves for the trick-or-treaters tomorrow.

Link for the phone surfers

26 thoughts on “Somebody ring Noah

  1. When I lived in Texas, I was surprised at the many roads that crossed creeks underwater. These were called "low water crossings". The water wasn't deep, and there actually was a road under there, but as a Northerner, the whole thing struck me as being very weird.Of course when there was a storm like you described, the crossings were no longer safe. 😦

  2. In Ireland I guess there were plenty of fords, if the names are anything to go by. Waterford, Wexford, Freshford, Urlingford, Foxford etc. And if I remember right, the Irish word for ford is Bhuiríos, or Borris, which is in Carlow. We also have Borris-in-Ossory, Two-Mile Borris, and Borrisokane.

  3. Originally posted by Mickeyjoe_irl:

    And if I remember right, the Irish word for ford is Bhuiríos, or Borris

    I remembered wrong :doh: Ford is Áth 😮

  4. At least they have an umbrella.It rained in the night. Mam said that the roads were bad again this morning. And the forecast is for more rain all week :down:

  5. 'Fraid not, it's raining again. Around here they're only wrong when the forecast is good. 😉

  6. I feel your pain, Mickey. :down: I'm soooo sick of the rain already…and I'm sure it's not even as bad here as it is there.

  7. Raining again Karen, forecast is warning of gales and flooding. :down::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks 🙂

  8. I've been keeping a rain journal. I started it at the beginning of October. I want to mark down every day it rains so that when the rain finally leaves, I can count up the days and know exactly how much it really rains here. :D:sst: I have way too much free time.

  9. Ah sure, it's not so bad, as long as you're inside and don't have to go anywhere.Mam cancelled a trip into town this evening because she was worried about making it home again.

  10. I'm glad you've got that kind of attitude about it. I'm far less…uh, tolerant. :left: The gloom really gets to me.Good thing she cancelled! :up:

  11. Oh it gets to me too 😦 around February I get completely fed up with the wet and the cold and the dark.

  12. :awww: I think people like us need free summer homes in sunny areas! Now I just need to find a donor. :p

  13. There's folks here who escape to the sun during summer too. After my trip to Spain I can see the appeal.

Leave a Reply

