No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

Yesterday, as I was coming out of the pharmacy in Freshford I noticed the older couple parked in front of me was having car trouble. I sounded like they needed a jump start and since I carry cables I offered to help them out.

So I hooked everything up and we gave it a try, but all I succeeded in doing was draining my own battery so we were both stranded. ๐Ÿ™„

On to Plan B, I rang the auto-rescue and they sent out a mechanic though it took the bones of an hour. Thankfully there was no permanent damage to either my car or the other couple's and we were both on the road after a minute. Still, it threw my whole day out of whack and I only got done half what I wanted to when I finally got to Kilkenny.

I did get to see the Santa Claus parade :up: but only because I got stuck behind it :down: which only made me later. But I mustn't gripe too much. I got the essentials done. The rest can wait until next weekend.

In the meantime I may re-read my owner's manual and make sure I know what I'm doing for the next time. :whistle:

10 thoughts on “No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

  1. Red to red, positive to positive, Mick-E. The positive post is always the bigger of the two. :p Glad you didn't get hurt or sued, you can go next weekend!

  2. The "positive" is that you now know what to do and not do in that situation. I was taught to go: positive to positive, then connect the negative to the car needing to be jump started. The other negative you ground to an unpainted, unmoving metal part of the car such as a bolt. This will prevent any sparks and fire.

  3. I did learn how to jump start a car and had plenty of practice on a string of less than reliable cars, but it's been a while and I guess I got sloppy and assumed I was doing everything correctly.Damaging my own car would have been bad enough, but if anything had happend to the other car I would have felt awful.

  4. Sanshan, you're right. I didn't go far enough. Next time you get a chance, y'all, look at your battery in the daylight. The positive post, or lug, is noticably bigger than the negative lug. So it won't matter what color the cables are. I always hook them up positive to positive, negative on the running cars battery, hooking the last to the unpainted ground. Class dismissed, go have a :beer:

  5. Sanshan, you're right. I didn't go far enough. Next time you get a chance, y'all, look at your battery in the daylight. The positive post, or lug, is noticably bigger than the negative lug. So it won't matter what color the cables are. I always hook them up positive to positive, negative on the running cars battery, hooking the last to the unpainted ground. Class dismissed, go have a :beer:

  6. "In the meantime I may re-read my owner's manual and make sure I know what I'm doing for the next time. "thinking that without the bad experience you would have never opened the manual, I can confident say, in the long run you will benefit by it :)Plus I give you 1,000,000 million points for being a great man! yes, points count :heart:

  7. You don't know me very well do you? :pI'm such a geek I read the manual right after I bought it… for fun.

Leave a Reply

