Advanced Fiddling With It

In which I – finally – get the broadband working again. …

It started yesterday after I got home from my aunt's. I just set her up with a web-cam and a skype account so she could talk to her niece in Australia. She'd seen how it worked for us with the brother. I brought my laptop along so I could test things and show her how to make and receive calls. And while I couldn't connect to her wireless network I was able to use a patch lead.

I got home and tried to connect to my own network, which worked but no internet :confused: Time for more tech support 🙄 I started checking network settings on the laptop and repairing the connection, nothing. Then I checked Mam's laptop to she if she could connect, no joy there either.

Then I moved on to the wireless router. Everything looked ok so I thought something might need a reset. First thing was the connection between the router and the "broadband box". I hit the renew button in the routers configuration page and that seemed to hang. So I plugged out the broadband box, waited a minute and then plugged it back in. Which also had no effect. In fact I seemed to have knackered things completely.
It was also getting quite late so I decided to call it a night and tackle it again the next day. Turns out that I ended up spending my morning finding an open petrol station and buying a new car battery first, but that's another story :whistle:

With a job like this it's best to break things down into separate stages and tackle them one at a time. So I plugged my laptop directly to the "broadband box" with an ethernet cable and tried to connect. First I had to repair the network connection on the laptop to get it to see the box, then power-cycle the box to get that to connect to the internet. But at last I was on-line.
Before I go any further I should mention two windows tools that I was using to check my network settings and connection. Both are run from the command prompt.

ipconfig shows you your TCP/IP settings and will also let you refresh them.

ping is used to test if one network device can communicate with another.

I was using them regularly to see what was going on.

Once I was happy that was working I shifted attention to the wireless router. This still seemed to be locked up trying to connect to the box, so I reset the wireless router (using the reset button on the back). But once that was done I could see from the routers status display that it and box were talking to each other. :hat:

Then I plugged my laptop into the router, resetting wiped out all the wireless setup so I had to use the cable, repaired the connection on the laptop again and proceeded to configure the router.

FINALLY I plugged out the cable and tried to connect to the wireless network. Success! I checked Mam's laptop and it was working too.
Now that I'm back I can post some Christmas photos. I won't add any here, this is getting far to long, but you can go have a look in the new album.

15 thoughts on “Advanced Fiddling With It

  1. Congratulations on resolving your wireless network issues! On my way to look at your album.

  2. Oh I'm glad you fixed it. i was going to suggest using a FLAME THROWER to meld the wires together so the connection would work better… :whistle:

  3. Nice work! :up:Here, every time the power goes down(quite commonly in winter), I have to reset all my boxes in a PARTICULAR order or nothing works :irked:

  4. Hi all, good to be back. Still seems a bit flaky, but I think it's a problem on the other end. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Careful hungry, I can always take yours back.

  5. He likes you to play nicely with your new toys. And not threaten to melt people's broadband.

  6. But I fear that this would cause the electronics to release the mysterious blue smoke. And as I learned from Mythbusters

    That's bad because when you see the mysterious blue smoke, electronics don't work anymore.

  7. but but but….you misunderstand me – if all the components are melted together to form one smooth, sleek and seamless thingy, then you shouldn't have to do any tinkering aroudn with it ever ever ever again!

  8. no no no…no blue smoke when the heat is high enough to cauterize the surfaces… :whistle:

  9. Tell you what; you try it first, on your laptop say, and if that works ok I'll give it a shot.

  10. Why did this post remind me of a Simpsons episode?MeathookMarge, how did you get my jacket so clean? I've tried everything to get those blood and puke stains out. I've tried hitting them; I've tried yelling at 'em … MargeAll it takes is the right cleanser and a little elbow grease.RamrodDo you have anything that will get this emblem back on my jacket? I've tried spitting at it, you know, but …MargeJust put it on my sewing pile.

Leave a Reply

