Time to take the decorations down

It's official, the holidays are over. :down: Yesterday we took down the Christmas cards, packed up the decorations, and put the tree in the shower :confused: Yeah, it's a live tree growing in a pot. Mam thought the shock of putting it straight outside would be to much.

I was just about to get our outdoor lights when it started snowing. :eyes: It didn't last long, but by the time it stopped it was dark. I got them down today though.

We're still in what's being called "the big freeze" and the strain is beginning to show. Schools were supposed to be re-opening today but that's been largely called off. Dublin sounds like it has been largely shut down. And transportation seems to generally be in shambles. You can read more about it here.

The postman did make it to us today, though it was a few hours later than normal and she said the roads were very bad. The news tonight was saying there's no sign of it letting up for the foreseeable future.

Anyway, I guess it's time for the Christmas theme to come down too. Rather than just going back to my same old one I'm going to try adapting this one. Wish me luck, I don't know as much about CSS as I would like.

EDIT:

Well, this is what I have so far. What do you think? Please vote in the poll —>
and/or leave a comment.

EDIT 2:

Trying different background images. I think it helps. :whistle:

22 thoughts on “Time to take the decorations down

  1. Hmmm…I like the shamrock concept..but to me it seems a bit pale, looks like wallpaper you might have in your bathroom. lol. Sorry! You asked for opinions! I think with the orangeness of the header, your background should be more of a blue tone.

  2. what a pain in the a$$ it is ! i did mine yesterday among another 1 million things!next year, I will leave them up for a whole year! πŸ˜†

  3. hahahahaha I will pretend not hearing! :p*hugs* from a freezing NYC ! it feels like -22F BRRRRRRRRRRR !

  4. make that Irish coffee three! :lol:we did have some snow in NYC yesterday,the cold today it is unbearable! I had to inspect a building by the LaGuardia Airport area (close to the water),I froze my Greek a$$! now I am trying to warm up before the next one! PSMy friend upstate NY had the heat to 72F and unfortunately her basement wasn't warm enough and she got broken water pipes! πŸ˜₯

  5. I heard my aunt's pipes froze. I don't think they burst, but she had no running water. Hopefully they have it fixed now.

  6. I always winterize my country house in Pennsylvania! broken pipes taught me that plumbers make millions! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

