Winter Olympics Day 5

And that means the curling starts. …

:hat:

So far I've been really enjoying the games. I got to see Canada win Gold in the Men's Moguls and Silver in the Men's Boarder Cross. That Boarder Cross is a thrilling event, I'd really recommend you try to watch some of the women's.

I also got to see Ireland's first result – in the 15 km cross country. PJ Brennan came in 91st :whistle:

The BBC's coverage has been excellent with their multiscreen feature on satellite I currently have a choice between luge, snowboard cross, biathlon, and speed skating. Later on will be hockey. and all this will be repeated tomorrow morning when it's the middle of the night in Vancouver.

So the curling, it was the start of the Men's round robin and Britain was playing Sweden, US v Germany, the Swiss v Denmark, and Canada playing Norway. :up:

Understandably, but still frustrating, the BBC focused all its coverage on the British team. Not a bad match, but the Brits just didn't seem up to the same level of the Swedes. The British skip in particular missed a few crucial shots.

Meanwhile Canada v Norway went right down to a tie-breaker though we managed to win 7-6 in the 11th end. That would have been one to see. πŸ™„

Eventually we will get Canada playing Britain and I'll get to see that.

28 thoughts on “Winter Olympics Day 5

  1. Really? I hadn't heard about that. But then the Winter Olympics have received almost no coverage in the Irish media.

  2. My friend was volunteering at Irish house because she thought it would be a cultural event; I suppose if you believe the cliche that drinking is the only culture in Ireland. πŸ™„ Anyway, she quit.

  3. But how about Maelle Ricker? Or Canada v Norway in Men's Ice Hockey? 2nd period is about to start.

  4. Her job was supposed to be going up to drinking patrons and encouraging them to get up and dance. Can you imagine? :lol:And..it's a $20 cover charge to just get in, and I think drinks are $10. Crazy. But there are huge lineups.

  5. 😦 That's too bad. I was looking at the website and there's supposed to be "music and cultural exhibits".Then again it is sponsored by an "Irish" pub.

  6. Yikes! Not as big as the women's score but getting there. How was Luongo tonight? Was he tested at all?

  7. No thank you. It must have been rough. Doesn't sound like the neighbours are that impressed either, going by the comments on the house's page. Loud music every night until 3 am. I think the cover charge is because it's not an official house. 3-0 for Canada going into the third period :yes:

  8. "Understandably, but still frustrating, the BBC focused all its coverage on the British team. Not a bad match, but the Brits just didn't seem up to the same level of the Swedes. The British skip in particular missed a few crucial shots."Its quite amusing that Alan Brazil on commercial radio was slagging off the BBC for not showing the British downhill skier live even though he was running in 38th place,you could get it on the red button instead.

  9. Good game? It wasn't on (it was 3am anyway) but I see we won after only 9 ends. :hat::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I think a large part of it is a numbers game, what sports would be the most popular. At least they are giving people a choice and trying to show as many events as possible.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Today's curling will be the British men against France and the women against China. With luck Canada will get a mention.

  10. I wish that we had coverage like that in the US. We have one network that covers the games and we have to watch what they decide we will watch. And of course like the Brits it is biased towards the US team coverage. I like to watch good competition. I don't care much about the nationalities involved.PS. Watch out for the Danes in that curling! πŸ˜€

  11. I begin to have an interest for curling. I have watched the Scotties tournament while I was on vacation and it was a good competition. Although Quebec has a team, we never hear about it around here.I'm looking forward to watch the Olympics finals :up:

  12. I will. :)The British women beat China 5-4 in a game that went right down to the final stone. The men are playing France now and are already ahead 4-0. I really wish I could have seen Canada v Japan. From what I can tell it was so close. I could hear the cheering during the women's match. Pretty rowdy for curling fans.

  13. Edward, can you get the CTV/TSN (Canada) channel? We have almost 24/7 coverage (even all the curling events) on three different channels.

  14. Get this…I'm channel surfing between speedskating, women's hockey and curling. And it's not just Canadian athletes. I love curling. Though I've never played it, my dad did so I grew up watching it with him. Same with football.

  15. Thanks for the info San :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Great Louis! We'll have to have a Brier party. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:France had a small rally, but Britain still leads 7-4.

  16. No, can't get it. 90 miles from the border but we don't get it. In fact I think our local Spokane stations serve southeastern B.C. to some extent.

  17. That's a bit unfortunate, the French skip just flubbed his last shot and then they conceded the game. Final score 9-4.

Leave a Reply

