Curling Fun

So I've been watching at least two matches as day (gotta love round-robin tournaments :hat: ) And I've been looking at various curling related stuff on the web.

So we'll start with the basics. Wikipedia has a very good article about curling if you really don't have a clue.

Here's some more facts about curling from David Letterman.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9sjo_3Itzc

But why would you want to curl?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVdjLaO2UCE

Some people argue that curling is boring. And there have been attempts to make it more exciting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGKdr_au240

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0y05ihEitdU

But I think it's fine the way it is. Watch this shot.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxmrH20IA2Q

Or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CM5mFH3_Qhs

Or this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SvEPMUmTaWY

But yeah, occasionally it can get a little boring, so you need to know how to amuse yourself.


What CBC never showed you…

maryn aka 'myrna' | MySpace Video

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=8118377

If the action is a bit slow the fans are always entertaining.

Watching Britain's women play the US they showed a couple of spectators sporting these. :eyes: πŸ˜†

Finally,this aite has "borrowed" some pretty funny cartoons from sources around the web. I'll just post a link and let them worry about the copyright. :angel:

EDIT: The same site has a huge list of curling related videos.

125 thoughts on “Curling Fun

  1. They actually did that an hour after everyone left the arena. There shouldn't have been any media there! And…get this, there was an order put out for an alcohol run by someone on the American team in case they won. πŸ˜†

  2. Yeah, San!!My thoughts exactly!! Loved the way they all lay around on the ice shooting pics of each other.You could see em saying 'When are we gonna get to do THIS again?!!….Now pass me that cigar, and that camera too!! :)Congrats to the Canadian ladies πŸ™‚

  3. Yup! Any team who 'presumes' they are gonna win deserve not to (no names mentioned here)!!. But it was very decent of the USA to get the beers in! πŸ˜†

  4. My much loved Canadian cousin 'Traveling Dan' is due to arrive from Toronto first week in March. Would have loved him to put it forward by a week to have watched the final together with him.I proper love the game, but my Scottish eyes just cant move fast enough to keep up with that puck!! πŸ™‚

  5. Sorry I couldn't hang around last night guys, but it was after 2 and I had to get to bed :zzz: I was watching some highlights, great win for us in the speed skating and hockey. :)I don't know what to make of the women's celebration. If it was after the crowds had gone why not leave them to it? But of course some journalist was there to tell us all about the "shocking" behaviour for the sake of a headline. πŸ™„

  6. BC/Alberta 8th end, 5-5. And the rest of my lunch break to watch the end of the game! :happy:

  7. Thanks for the link Clicking around, I found they have a webcam overlooking the sheets :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Sask. I down 2 to Northern Ontario after 4 ends 😦

  8. Hey, I LOVED the curling. Want to try it. :)Give me a beer and some stones and a broom! Yeah.Great blog, Mickey!

  9. :)It's the men's world championships in Italy at the moment. Canada is doing well. Second place behind Norway going into the playoffs.

  10. The uploader must have changed the settings sometime in the past two years. I'll see if I can find another version when I'm at a PC.

Leave a Reply

