The Dead Zoo

I was in Dublin on Tuesday, bringing the Mammy up to the airport. She's off to be with the new family for a month. Since her flight was first thing I decided to make a day of it. I had picked a few options for what to do and with the help of Desiree (and Google) I eventually choose the Natural History branch of the National Museum of Ireland. Colourfully nicknamed 'The Dead Zoo'.

Now it was mainly for the price – admission is free – but I would have gladly paid. The variety and number of specimens are mind blowing.

The main floor is devoted to Irish animals. And must have examples of every species found on and around the island.

The second floor is where the "exotic" animals are displayed. I was a bit nervous going up the stairs.

Since the musuem was only recently re-opened after an incident. But it turns out my fears were unfounded.

Again, the exhibits were mind blowing. :eyes:

That's two whale skeletons hanging from the ceiling.

Not everything is quite so dramatic but still nice to see.

While it was extremely interesting, some displays were macabre

bordering on shocking

But this museum is practically a museum in of itself. The entire collection is from a different age.

It's a shame that the upper galleries are still closed.

I can only imagine what treasures were waiting up there though I did get some hints.

Desiree got quite a workout, these are only a fraction of the photos I took. Please check out the rest of the album.

The museum wasn't all I saw of the city.

EDIT: You're supposed to be able to click on the pictures to go to larger version in the album, but it's not working for some reason :confused: So I added the links below. Ok Now :shrug:

24 thoughts on “The Dead Zoo

  1. Oh, wow! :yikes: I adore museums and that type of place! πŸ˜€ That looks like a really good one. Awesome pics! :up:

  2. Another great reason to visit Ireland! A dead zoo! :up:I've never been to a dead zoo nor Ireland. πŸ™„

  3. Are those the antlers of an Irish elk in the first photo? Now that's an animal that I wish I could still see in the wild!Looks like a very impressive museum. I'm familiar with the Natural History Museum in London of course and this one looks like a good rival to it.What are those vehicles in the final photo? Looks like someone's tried to disguise them as Canadian schoolbuses!

  4. Thanks everyone. I was definitely pleased with my choice for the day. I would certainly go back and recommend it to others.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks Karen, I don't make any claims of being anything more than a point-and-shoot-er but they did turn out ok. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Time to book those tickets San :D:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Yes, Adele, that's an Irish elk. (Click on the photo for a larger view)First thing you see when you enter the Irish room. :eyes:That's quite a compliment, comparing it with the London museum. I'm surprised a wildlife buff like you doesn't recognize a "duck", but maybe you're not familiar with this species. πŸ˜†

  5. Oh my..They have those same amphibian type truck things in Boston too!Good workout for little D!

  6. On a smaller scale Carol. ;):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Those amphibian tours have become a fad hungry. It's worldwide.

  7. We have some stuffed animals at the Adelaide Museum as well. That part of the building freaks me out! I also like to look at them and see where the stitching is 😐

  8. it looks close to the Museum of Natural History in NYC :)lovely picture "uncle Mick" one day you will bring you adorabe nephew there :yes:

  9. in France, as an art student, we used to call it the "bone museum".I loved drawing in this place, but unfortunately, it's one of the most expensive museum in Paris, even for students.I just LOVED to draw there: very "static" models πŸ˜€

  10. I think so Louis :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Nice sketch pfelelep, shame you had to pay. 😦 We're so lucky that the national museums are free admission. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I might have to wait a while until he can appreciate it. Hopefully he will be into museums (there is a good precedent πŸ˜‰ )

  11. Originally posted by Mickeyjoe_irl:

    until he can appreciate it

    my babies were 3 years of age when I started :happy:I used to buy summer memberships and every Saturday and Sunday we will have a ball! Now my Yannis is working at a museum and we have free passes :)How often do you see your nephew ?does he live close by ?:up:

Leave a Reply

