The Phantom of My Opera

Between one thing and another I've had a lower than usual profile on the OC. I've been reading posts, but not commenting much and not posting either. 😮 …


So here we go with some specific randomness to get things up to date.

Way back at the beginning of August I made my annual pilgrimage to the Stradbally Steam Rally. I took some photos,

Plenty more in the album.

I also shot some videos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4v4pU8iIvCQ

You can see the rest on my YouTube channel.

Then just before school started up Mam and I took a little trip out to the West Coast. We saw the Cliffs of Moher from a sea tour. Very different view than from the top.

Album

And the next day we went on down to Foynes to see the Flying Boat Museum.

You guessed it, more in the album.

Along with my real life travels I've been wandering on the web as well. Have you ever come across an unusual article on Wikipedia? Have you ever wanted to? Because, handily, Wikipedia has a list of them. (You have to scroll down to get to the links themselves, but if you do there's enough to keep you busy for weeks.)

I referred to myself as the phantom and for a while I really did look the part. I got shingles about a month ago. That was a real misery. Imagine a very bad dose of flu combined with being constantly stung with nettles. 😦 And the right side of my face from brow to collar bone broke out in a rash.

Well, maybe not that bad. But it was red and swollen and flaking and at one point my earlobe was the size of a grape.

I'm recovered now, though I still get spells of itching / pins and needles around my eye.

My little nephew is doing well, he just turned three months. Which makes him 1/160th of my age. :faint:

Finally, a couple of songs that caught my ear since the last time I did a music related post.

Percussion Gun by The White Rabbits

And something that I'm kicking myself for missing, since Steven Fry was also a guest.

Seasick Steve Performing That's All on "The Rob Brydon Show"

18 thoughts on “The Phantom of My Opera

  1. "I referred to myself as the phantom and for a while I really did look the part. I got shingles about a month ago. That was a real misery. Imagine a very bad dose of flu combined with being constantly stung with nettles. And the right side of my face from brow to collar bone broke out in a rash.":cry:darn! that must have been a very challenging month ! 😦 I am glad you feel better! is the itching around the eye something that can be controlled with eye drops? "My little nephew is doing well, he just turned three months. Which makes him 1/160th of my age."3 months passed already? wow! 1/160th of my age…… you either give me your age :p, or I have to guess :lol:nice to see you posting :love:

  2. Thanks San :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks also Angeliki. It's the skin around my eye so some cream rather than drops might be better. I was told that it's pretty common after-effect of shingles so hopefully it will go away soon.I'll give you a hint. Multiply 3 by 160 and you'll have my age in months. 😉

  3. Oh dear, sorry to hear about the shingles. That must have been horrible.Great view of the cliff!

  4. Originally posted by Mickeyjoe_irl:

    I'll give you a hint. Multiply 3 by 160 and you'll have my age in months.

    😮 I do not numbers ! so there!you do the math,I will be your cheerleader! 😆

  5. It's all too possible San. I have the birth cert to prove it. :D:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:No, Adele it wasn't much fun. The sea tour was a different story. I'd easily recommend it to anyone visiting the cliffs. We were really lucky, the tides were right so the boat was able to travel under the sea arch. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I've done the maths Angeliki, your turn now. :p:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks hungry, I'm working my way through my watch list and will be checking out your blog soon.

  6. Wow, I know how uncomfortable shingles are, I had them as a teenager…unfortunately. I hope you feel better soon and no scaring.:)

  7. You poor thing 😦 Yeah, I'd say I was recovered, haven't noticed any itching for a while now. And luckily no scars. I guess I got off lightly.

  8. Look, I don't know how y'alls' women are. :confused: With Greek or Italian women, you don't argue, you just nod and say something like,"Thankyou, ma'am." 😆

  9. UGGHH to the shingles. From what I have seen and heard it can be likened to a medieval torture :cry:Glad you are on the mend :happy:

  10. Torture, that sounds a bit dramatic but accurate. Feeling much better now.. :up::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Who's arguing? I'm just trying to encourage some math skills.

  11. Much better thanks, only the odd little tingle in my face. I hardly even notice it now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

