COM+ Event System Service Error 193:0xc1

Adventures in tech support …


This will be of very little interest to people who aren't experiencing this particular error, or something similar, so feel free to skip this post.

However, I found so little information on-line in trying to solve this little mystery that I thought I would go through how I managed to fix it in the hopes of helping the next poor sod.

It all started when I was doing a bit of maintenance on my aunt's PC. She'd been getting a few error messages every time she started up and it needed to have some software updates installed. Going through my usual checks I noticed that no Microsoft patches had been installed for months. I checked that automatic updates were turned on – they were – and then tried to run Windows Update manually. I gave me the list of important and optional updates to install, but when it went to download the patches there was an error message about BITS – Background Intelligent Transfer Service. BITS is what allows you to continue surfing while updates are downloaded in the background.

Now there was a very handy link with the error message that took you into Windows help, which gave you instructions for how to get the BITS service started. However, when I tried to start BITS I got another error message stating that the service could not be started because another service BITS was dependant on could not be started. (I've forgotten the exact wording :doh: )

So by going into the properties of the BITS service I eventually tracked down the problem to the COM+ service. But when I tried to start this service I got the error message in the title. I spent hours searching on the internet for any information, but I couldn't find anything useful.
In the hopes that one of the Windows updates might solve the problem I decided to try downloading the updates from the Microsoft website and installing them manually. But when I tired that I kept getting error messages that the updates were not valid Win 32 applications. And a bit more searching seemed to indicate that this was a problem with the COM+ service too. πŸ™„

Eventually I stumbled across a program called the Windows Update Standalone Installer. I thought this might let me get around the problems I was having with COM+ and Windows Update. Unfortunately I couldn't see anywhere to download this program. It turns out that it is included in Windows – wusa.exe . So I went looking for this file on my aunt's PC.

I found it, but when I did I noticed that it's size was 0 bytes. πŸ’‘ That's not right, could a corrupted file or files be causing the problem?

BTW, I'd already fixed another unrelated error that was being caused by a 0 sized file. Which was how I came to my conclusion. :sherlock:

So I searched the hard disk for files with a size of 0 bytes. There were quite a few, but I determined that the ones I was interested in were all located in the System32 folder. Here's the list:

  • es.dll
  • newdev.dll
  • wisptis.exe
  • wusa.exe

What do you know, es.dll is a file for the COM+ service.

So I was halfway there I had found the problem, now I just needed to fix it. I went to my own laptop running Vista, located the files I needed, and copied them to a USB stick. But I knew from the other file that they couldn't be copied onto my aunt's computer from within windows. Even in Safe Mode I wasn't allowed permission. To get around this I used an Unbuntu Live CD to boot up the computer and bypass Windows' file permissions.

An important aside: I didn't just overwrite the "corrupted" files with the copies from my laptop. I renamed them with a .bad extension. So es.dll became es.dll.bad, for example. There were two reasons for this.

  1. If the files were corrupt because of a disk problem I wanted the new files copied to a different block.
  2. I wanted a backup of the original files in case I needed to undo my changes

Once the files were copied across, I rebooted back into Windows and tried running Windows Update again. Success! The updates – 150MB of them πŸ™„ – were downloaded and installed without a hitch.

So that's the story, hopefully somone will find it useful.

NOW FOR THE DISCLAIMER:
I don't work for Microsoft, I make now claims at being an expert. What I do I like to describe as "advanced fiddling with things until I get them to work". So this may work for you, it may not, it might even make things worse. If it does don't come crying to me. I didn't force you to try this.

If you find anything in the post above confusing or you are not comfortable with doing something that might cause your computer to stop working then LEAVE IT ALONE. Go to whoever you rely on for technical support and ask them to fix it. You could mention this article, they'll likely appreciate it.

I now return you to my irregularly scheduled blog.

EDIT / UPDATE:

Of course, now that I have the computer gone back to my aunt I found this article which talks about two tools that could have been very useful.
Windows Dependency Walker which will track down all the dependencies for a service and report any problems. And the System File Checker which can scan for and repair problems with Windows systems files.

Before you try these see my above disclaimer.

26 thoughts on “COM+ Event System Service Error 193:0xc1

  1. What's interesting is your process in working through the problem. Other than that, meh, you're right , not too interesting. πŸ˜‰

  2. Thanks San, most people find how my mind works a little… odd. :D:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Skipping through my blog Leazz? πŸ˜†

  3. Congrats! :up: It was not an easy-to-solve bug, you got a lot of perseverance.I didn't experienced that kind of error myself or even any system error… Oh! :doh: I have a MAC… :whistle:

  4. :rolleyes:Interesting post, I find it useful, not now but who knows what future brings. Anyway, I would use Hiren`s boot CD to avoid Windows file permissions but it`s basically the same thing :up:

  5. Perseverance, recently promoted to a virtue along with patience. Or was it persistence? I'll have to check with hungry. I won't dignify the rest with a response Louis :p:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I used Ubuntu because I had the disk handy Darko. But any live CD should do the job. That's my hope, one day someone will be desperately googling that error and get some assistance from this.

  6. At least it only took me a minute to find on Google. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Don't forget yourself Louis πŸ™‚

  7. I'm always interested in how people solve problems. :yes:.My limited experience with Windows has helped me appreciate Ubuntu. :insane:.I've screwed up my various Ubuntu (and othe Linux) installations many times over, and I've always managed to recover without much effort. But helping my colleagues with Windows problems always has me pulling out my hair! :insane:.And as for viruses, my theory is that Windows ships pre-populated with viruses. I believe this because I've yet to find a Windows computer without viruses, despite having some or other 'antivirus' installed. :rolleyes:.

  8. So what did you think of my technique? -> I suppose it's what you're comfortable with. I wouldn't know where to start with Ubuntu, though I have played around with it a bit. I doubt that, the problem is there are so many viruses and most people don't really understand how to protect themselves properly.

  9. I found Ubuntu very easy to learn. But that may be because I had no real experience with Windows. :left:.What I don't understand is why is it so easy for a virus to install itself without user interaction to begin with? :confused:.Surely Microsoft could have solved that problem by now? :sherlock:.

  10. As I understand it goes right back to the start of Windows. Microsoft made a decision that they would give all users full administrative rights to the computer. This meant programs running under Windows had admin rights – including any viruses – so they could do just about anything they wanted. Now Microsoft has realized the problem with this and has made attempts to fix it with UAC but it's not as good as an OS which has had user based restictions from the start. Plus Windows is a victim of its own popularity. So many PCs come with Windows pre-installed and are therefore bought by people who don't have much experience with computers or computer security that they have become a natural target for the virus writers.

  11. thank God I migrated to Mac OS. I used Windows for ever, until 3 years ago and I don't miss it one little bit. skip skip skip πŸ˜€

  12. Yeah, I'm so used to Windows that every time I try to do anything on a Mac it's just different enough to be massively frustrating. Here's some more who want to go skipping with you :p

  13. it always bugs of that everyone keeps saying that Android is Linux. :irked:. It has a Linux based kernel but calling it Linux is even more ridiculous than saying that iOS is BSD. :rolleyes:.

  14. Uh, I seemed to have missed a step here. How did we get on to whether Android is Linux or not?

  15. And I hope you're not posting spam just to increase traffic to your article. I read it and it didn't seem all that helpful or relevant – the PC I was working on didn't even have MS Office installed. I'll leave the link… for now. But I wouldn't recommend people visit. :down:

Leave a Reply

