Pictures from the past few weeks

I've been collecting photos from the past few weeks. Finally time to do something with them. …


Back at the end of January I was in Gowran and took some time to investigate Gowran church.

Unusual as half of it is a ruin while the other half is still in use.

There is also a small green with a fountain, which got turned off just after I arrived. πŸ™„ It did let me get close enough to read the poem inscribed on the stone in the center.

Leisure

What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.
No time to stand beneath the boughs
And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,
Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.
No time to see, in broad daylight,
Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty's glance,
And watch her feet, how they can dance.
No time to wait till her mouth can
Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare.

William H. Davies

You do have to stand and stare because there are no park benches. :irked:

More photos in the album.

Then the friday before last I was up in Dublin helping to set a world record.

Shave Or Dye 2011 – The World Record from Today FM on Vimeo.

Of course this means that I have to update my avatar.

Here's the album.

And finally, the following Sunday Mam and I went to Altamont Gardens to catch the end of Snowdrop Week.

Very picturesque, though the weather was awful.

For a change I tried a few nature shots.

The plant life was as interesting as the birds. I don't know whether these arching branches were natural or "trained" to droop over the paths and trail into the water.

The rose walk was obviously trained, it must be really something when in bloom.

And the architecture is also impressive.

On our way home we called into Lisnavagh House because Mam was interested in getting a Bunbury Board for her daughter-in-law.

Last album

That should get me up to date.

21 thoughts on “Pictures from the past few weeks

  1. yes. although I think they're going incognito these days. So probably best you didn't out them by shouting their names out.

  2. I suppose they might have been avoiding me after the LWU fiasco. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks Louis. It's always green, gets a bit boring.

  3. Did you get a chance to catch the Tournament of Hearts? I watched the two games Saskatchewan played against Canada. I'm happy Saskatchewan won the final, they deserved it.

  4. No, there was nowhere for me to watch it. Serious lack of curling coverage in Ireland. :confused:I did hear from a friend that Sask. was doing well, that's great news. :yes:

  5. I hope to visit Ireland one day. My friends were there several years ago, during summer, spent a month there travelling all over the country. Their photographs were similar to yours, except it was even greener :DIreland is popular in Serbia πŸ˜€

  6. Be sure and let us know when you (and San? πŸ˜‰ ) are coming. A Serbian trad group? NOW I've seen everything. πŸ˜€ I have to say they are pretty good. :up:And they've done one of my favourite songs.
    http://youtu.be/MDTlQ9xgtGk

  7. Originally posted by Mickeyjoe_irl:

    when you (and San?

    Of course, I will never go anywhere without her :happy:

  8. You do have to stand and stare because there are no park benches.

    Well, it's good that they practice what they preach :whistle: And anyway I want that poem shouted from the rooftops in London. Especially during hassled rush hours.Great shots! πŸ™‚

  9. Yeah, but I could have really used a seat. :irked: My knee was bothering me and I needed a rest. Originally posted by SittingFox:

    I want that poem shouted from the rooftops in London.

    I'll be watching for you on the evening news. :lol:And thanks. πŸ™‚

  10. nice little tour.318 heads shaved in one hour… wow. looks like they had fun too. :happy: i enjoyed it. and i stopped and stared awhile. :cool:thanks for sharing. :up: :coffee:

  11. Thanks :)There was some confusion about the exact number on the day, but the official count now seems to be 315. It was a great day, everyone was in high spirits and there was a real sense of camaraderie.Were you standing or sitting as you stared? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

