I Broke My Blog

I don't know if you've been following all the latest developments around My Opera, but I seem to have found one of the downsides.

First Opera introduced the Single Sign On, which basically means once you have created and signed in with your My Opera account you can acces any of Opera's services without having to log in again. :up:

Opera also launched a new web mail service and gave all My Opera members an account. :up:

Now one of the issues with this Single Sign On is that some My Opera members have user names which are not compatible with some services. Opera has realized this and have created a wizard which allows you to change your user name to something that will work everywhere. :up:

Now, my old username – Mickeyjoe_irl – did have a problem. The underscore _ is one of those characters which is not compatible, so I decided to use the wizard to fix this and allow me to use services like Opera Link and Opera Unite, unavailable to me up to now.

So I went through the wizard and changed my username to Mickeyjoe-Irl and everything seemed to go fine. I logged out, logged back in with my new details no problem. I then setup Opera Link and synced my speed dial between my laptop and Desiree. :up:

But when I checked my blog I noticed a problem, images were missing and links were broken. While the wizard will update your blog address and albums, it does NOT update any links you have included in your posts and comments. :no:

So I'm in the process of going through all my old blog posts fixing the links. Comments on other blogs will just have to stay broken. Even if I can find them the time limit for editing has likely expired. 😦

If you know of any links to me here on My Opera on your own blog you will have to check and update those as well.

Just to clarify you need to change

Mickeyjoe_irl

to

Mickeyjoe-Irl

Sorry for the inconvenience.

36 thoughts on “I Broke My Blog

  1. Which makes me glad I selected a username and applied old MS Dos filename rules. :doh:.All lower-case alphabetic characters should be fully bomb-proof no matter what they try next. :rolleyes:.

  2. In hindsight, which is always 20-20 qlue, I should have followed the same guidelines. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Not really, just very tiring. I spent most of the day going through my posts and I'm only about two-thirds through 2006. :ko:

  3. Man! Only two thirds through 2006? :insane:This issue should definitely be something that MyOpera should fix. And by that, I don't mean just fixed the glitch in the Wizard. I mean fix your broken links. Have they even acknowledged that their Username Rename Wizard IS faulty and DID cause this? Something like this with such a negative side effect is NOT something MyOpera should simply chalk up to Oops.Something crossed my mind, Mick.Before you go any further with you unbreaking of your Blog …Wouldn't it be easier to just rename your Username back to what it was originally? Then you'd just wait until MyOpera fixes that issue of the Underscore and Spaces incompatibility bit since they did state they planned on fixing that.

  4. Hmmm? I wonder if there isn't some HTML or CSS property / command that would do the renaming all in one shot?

  5. Actually, the Username Wizard is working exactly the way it was designed to work. So, technically, it's not faulty. It's developers just failed to foresee the problem of 'broken links'. :rolleyes:.There were two ways to prevent that problem. One would have been to have the Wizard automatically rename all links, a very server/cpu intensive procedure. The other way, and the way I would have done it, would have been to have set up virtual links to the 'new' file storage using the old username. The old username is not going to be recycled anyway, so this would not cause any conflict and would not have broken any links. :up:.A url is just a human readable address to a file after all. It's actually fairly easy, and common, to have more than one virtual url to the same actual file. :rolleyes:.

  6. Thanks San, still slogging through. :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Haven't heard anything back from Opera, though I haven't "officially" reported this bug.The Wizard does state that it can only be used once and to be careful choosing your new name since it can't be used again. Besides, if I changed back I'd also be back to the original problem, not being able to use Opera Link or Opera Unite with my username. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks hungry, if anyone can help it will be ID. Though I'm sure that Desiree would be equally expert.:sst: Can't have her getting jealous.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I was thinking the same sort of thing qlue. Opera should automatically redirect any URLs pointing to my old username rather than letting them 404.

  7. Oh no! :bug: Good luck correcting that :insane: What a nightmare.Me, I'm just stuck with the please-log-in-again-and-again-and-again bug :left: It randomly deletes my login status, it seems.

  8. I have already heard about that problem, another Opera user did the same and lost all of his photographs 😮 It would not apply to me because my username is simple so I didn`t pay much attention, otherwise I would warn other people on my friends list :left:

  9. Yeah, but at least it should be a one off thing. Your bug sounds a lot more frustrating. :(Which end is the bug on? Does it happen on different browsers or computers?

  10. My bug or the one Darko is referring to? :right:In my case, it happens everywhere, at work and at home, on Opera and IE (which I'm forced to use at work!) It's not as frequent as it was but it's still happening. It's a bit weird.

  11. Lost :confused: or just the links didn't work any more Darko? None of my files have been deleted, as far as I can tell.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Your bug Adele. Darko snuck his comment in while I was writing my previous reply. So if it's happening on different browsers and computers that certainly points to My Opera as the source of the problem. Do you have any software, on both computers, like Ccleaner that deletes unnecessary files?When I run it on my laptop it deletes the login cookie for My Opera and I have to log in again afterwards.

  12. Originally posted by Mickeyjoe-Irl:

    Do you have any software, on both computers, like Ccleaner that deletes unnecessary files?

    No…and Opera's the only site that's affected anyway 😦 It's not every day, but it's frequent enough to be a bit annoying.

  13. Originally posted by Mickeyjoe-Irl:

    or just the links didn't work any more Darko?

    I think links to source photos are not working. Well, it makes sense, since user name is changed…

  14. Originally posted by SittingFox:

    … and IE (which I'm forced to use at work!)

    :eyes:Will they let you plug in a USB stick and use Portable Opera?Mick,Have you brought this up in the forums? Maybe there's a quick fix somewhere that beats having to edit every single link you have … :yuck:

  15. Originally posted by clean:

    Will they let you plug in a USB stick and use Portable Opera?

    No, alas not! 😦

  16. Adele,Yeah, it definitely sounds like it's Opera's problem. Though I wonder if it might be something to do with your login cookie being deleted somehow?:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Clean, it did not occur to me to try the forums :doh: I'm afraid I'm an infrequent visitor to that part of the OC. And when I do it's only to report spammers. I will check it out.

  17. Well, I had to change my user name too. Lost all my photos in my blog, had to use IE (because it's the only browser that hints something is missing) to do the repairs.You should see what Google does with your old and new user name.If you click on anything related to your old user name you will see Opera butting in saying that the user name is unknown.

  18. I don't use that :left: :right: "other browser" I've been skimming my posts and can usually tell from context if there's an image missing. Yeah, I noticed that Google's search results were out of date too. But that should be sorted out the next time they crawl My Opera.

  19. i feel so sorry for you. my name has the same underscore. when i tried to get unite i got the same message you did. i got so mad i didn't change it and just do without unite. i guess anger does have a place. i think unconsciously i must have suspected a disaster would occur.but the main thing is, i have been using my handle since 1995 and i have no intention to change it ever. if a site won't take it… that's the end of that site. they need us, we don't need them.

  20. Hey, Mick – if Opera broke it, they should at least help fix it, you would think, no?Have you tried Opera Mobile for Android, yet?

  21. Thanks, I'm getting there though. Made it to 2009. I'm not using Unite, but Opera Link is so handy now that I have Opera Mini on my phone. I have resigned myself to my fate, my only gripe now is the lack of warning from Opera about the implications changing my username.

  22. Originally posted by Mickeyjoe-Irl:

    the lack of warning from Opera

    i agree. right there where you have a choice there should be a nice exclamation point and a warning in red. 🙂

  23. Originally posted by H82typ:

    Hey, Mick – if Opera broke it, they should at least help fix it, you would think, no?

    :doh: I guess that would be my other gripe, the lack of response from Opera.Originally posted by H82typ:

    Have you tried Opera Mobile for Android, yet?

    I haven't because I don't have enough memory. To many other apps installed. :whistle::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Originally posted by I_ArtMan:

    a nice exclamation point and a warning in red.

    Or a least some bold text. 😉

  24. They should either have never allowed 'illegal' usernames all these years, or they should have found a way to make them compatible with new services. :rolleyes:.

  25. Now, that should be in bold. 😆 :confused: With Opera Mobile installed you wouldn't need half those *other* apps, Mick. [/fanboy routine] 😉

  26. I just have one problem. Whenever I go to my blog, it seems like I have to log in, so I click 'log in', only to read a message that I am already logged in.

  27. I'm used to being logged in all the time, without being told I'm not logged in, to find out that I am logged in 😐

Leave a Reply

