Projects

Well I finally managed to fix my blog, as much as is possible 🙄 But that's not the only thing that's been keeping me busy. …


First off was the wardrobe for my bedroom. The adventure began way back at the start of the year when I bought it in IKEA. There's a great tool on the website for planning it all out, but still there's so many options it took a good bit of time to get it the way I wanted. Eventually, I had the design in order and headed up to Dublin to collect everything.

As you can see there were a fair few pieces. Luckily I have my van. I still ended up making two trips, though partly because not everything was in stock.

Still I had to wait until things in the house, and my bedroom, were more organised to give me room for assembly.

I have to say that IKEA does really good flat packs. Everything went together without drama and I have loads of storage for all my stuff.

Next on the agenda was a garden for Mam. She found these rings for making raised beds. Of course once they were in they had to be filled with a ton of topsoil and a ton of manure. Bit of a sh*te job that. 😉

And then they had to be planted, though Mam took care of that. It looks like we'll have a good crop.

And too keep things growing she also got a worm composter.

Might be asking you for some advice hungry though so far, so good.

And finally there's the chickens. Well, there will be chickens now that I've finished their run.

I really wish that had been flat-pack, I'm no carpenter. But it should keep the hens in and everything else out.

The plan is to get the birds next weekend so stay tuned.

40 thoughts on “Projects

  1. Nice projects, there. :up:I'm planning to visit IKEA too when I will move in my new house. I'm happy to hear that the assembly went well. 😀

  2. Worm composter! Excellent. We shall have to exchange worms so they get some student exchange experience – kind of like taking the grand tour!:whistle:

  3. Thanks Louis. :)No, you shouldn't have any problems if you go with IKEA. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Sure hungry, our worms arrived by post so they're already experienced travellers. 😀

  4. Thanks, but it looks better from a distance.When you get close you realize I can't make a straight cut to save my life. 😮

  5. errrr…it's Ikea….I don't think you need to measure anything with an Allen key….:whistle:

  6. Yeah San that's why I like IKEA, everything is pre-cut.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Originally posted by sanshan:

    Does that prove that Ikea is green?

    I know that IKEA does green. ;):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Measure twice, cut straight. :p

  7. I do enjoy a bit of DIY. Had to do a bit more on the chicken run. I added a cross bar to hold the feeder and a roosting bar inside the coop.

  8. don't forget to put a little trampoline under the roosting bar for those chooks who have nightmares at night, lose their footing and fall! PETA demands it.

  9. All looks great! I like the growrings :up:Good luck with the chickens! If you do have issues with wildlife taking an interest, let me know and I'll dig up some deterrence advice.

  10. Oh but no Mickey, straw bedding will be trampled, become flattened and then before you know it, it'll be like landing on hard stone floor… :whistle:

  11. Thanks Adele, the growrings are working well. We should have our first crop of lettuce already.I don't think that wildlife will be a problem. I haven't seen any signs and I haven't heard of the neighbour's having any problems with their flock, but I appreciate the offer. :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Peta can still go and… hungry. :p

  12. Originally posted by momable:

    minature Irish cows

    :confused: miniature cows? Never heard of them.

  13. Micky and San lol.There was a whole show on the USA National Geographic Channel about the Irish minature cows and how here in the USA people want them. Can raise a whole herd in a fairly small pasture!The are around as big as coal ponies.Must be in a part of Ireland not near you, Micky.

  14. I don't think leprechauns keep cows San, they are known for stealing milk which make dairy herds go dry. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I did a bit of Googling Elly, and found the Dexter breed. Is that what you're talking about?I was talking to my Mam about cows. She hadn't heard of the Dexters, but she knew a childhood neighbour who had a Kerry cow, which is also a smaller breed.

  15. Yes I'm very happy with the wardrobe, it has plenty of room. :up:Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    nice house…:yes:

    Thank you 🙂

  16. Yes I'm very happy with the wardrobe, it has plenty of room. :up:Originally posted by greatZenaida:

    nice house…:yes:

    Thank you 🙂

  17. Maureen O'hara wants a Bridget and a Kerry Cow? hahahah Funny lyrics. I am going to try to find this song. 😛

  18. :hi: Uncle Mick…how's your Ikea's closet…did you have enough space to all your stuff? :yes: 🙂 :up: nice house…:yes:

Leave a Reply

