Winter 2011 Arrives

And brings the snow with it. …

Delicate souls who can't handle the sight of snow (you know who you are) should look away now.

I suppose it had to happen. The weather took a real turn towards winter overnight and while it was the west cost that bore the brunt, we didn't escape.

This was the sight this morning.

That "chicken" on the left is really a pheasant that started hanging around picking up spilled chicken feed. Now Mom's putting food out for him and he's starting to get used to people, but is still cagey.

The sun poked out for a while.

But that didn't last long.

And we continued to have flurries on and off all day.

The snow on the roads is melting as soon as it falls, but if it freezes the roads are going to get interesting. We'll see how it goes tomorrow.

18 thoughts on “Winter 2011 Arrives

  1. It's great, we have a wood stove and that's been our main heating so far this winter. 💡 I should do a post about it.

  2. 🙄 I did warn you hungry. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:I got the fire going earlier so the house is really comfortable. 🙂

  3. Yay for snow! :headbang: I miss it a lot. I especially miss driving in it. 😀 Stay warm & cozy! :up:

  4. cue expected reaction::no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :no: :whistle:

  5. Yes! That'd be awesome. 😀 I love the smell of burning wood. Ahhh…nothing beats it. I have a gas fireplace. While I love that it's so simple and non-messy, etc., it's still not the same.

  6. Hungry, take a long breath and think of the climate of Niger or something…Well, you got snow before we did! It's cold enough here to make me dig out a good part of my Saskatchewan-proof clothing, and the river had ice on its edges the other morning. But no snow.

  7. No snow in Vancouver yet even though they predicted it for today. But on a clear day it could be seen on Vancouver island's mountain peaks 😎

  8. Uh…no :whistle: but nevertheless, I have been appreciating my big coat, as well as the hat that I bought from CPAWS a while ago :smurf:Perhaps it isn't really that cold. Perhaps I'm just out of training, winter-wise 😮

  9. You and your big mouth hungry :irked::star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Originally posted by SittingFox:

    Saskatchewan-proof clothing

    When I was in Saskatchewan I had an army surplus parka that was rated to -60. I really hope you don't need anything that serious in England. 😉

  10. I know what you mean. This Irish weather has made me soft. Now anything below -5 seems like a severe winter.

  11. Taking long deep breaths and thinking of warm things, Adele, but it's not working. I'm only hyperventilating…:faint:

  12. :awww: There, there hungry. Go back to bed if it's all too much. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star::doh: Missed your comment Darko.How's the weather, any snow? Any plans to head up to the mountains for some winter sports?

  13. We will go travel on Vancouver island and Tofino is on our list. No winter sports so far but I think San maybe have something on mind to surprise me :insane:

  14. Have fun Darko. I look forward to hearing about it.:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:No more snow here, but cold and the roads are icy :insane: It should be warmer next week, but with rain. 😥

Leave a Reply

