Seeing in the New Year

My eyes were dim, I could not see.

Then my new specs came in early.

Not that anyone has noticed yet. πŸ™„

Ok, I am exaggerating about the not seeing. While I did break my glasses at the beginning of December I have a second pair (essential when you're as blind as I am without).

But when I went it to see if anything could be done to repair the broken ones (it couldn't 😦 ) it turns out I was overdue for an eye test. So it seemed like a good time to get new frames.

I had my test just before Christmas and was told my new pair wouldn't be ready until the middle of January. Then out of the blue I got a text on New Year's eve to say they were ready to be picked up. I guess the lab was quiet over the holidays.

So I wore the new glasses to the family New Year's party, didn't say anything, and waited for someone to note the change. And today when we were Skyping to the brother in Canada they didn't pick it up either.

Oh well, overall it's been a very enjoyable Christmas and New Year with lots of good times spent with the family.

I hope all of you had a good holiday. πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “Seeing in the New Year

  1. In 1995. less than two months after I got my first glasses, I sat on them and they looked like those ones on that first photo. But I was poor back then and could not afford a new ones so I tried to glue them. They would last for about a day and then separate again. Real pain in the ass. I managed to do like that for almost a year then I got the chance to buy another ones. I got angry when think about those times.I am sorry that nobody noticed your new ones, but on the bottom line, does it matter? When I got mine, I was happy to see clearly, didn't pay attention whether someone noticed or not :cheers:

  2. And a happy 2012 to you Darko, you must have snuck your comment in while I was typing. It's all vanity, I know, but when you have to wear them every single day you like to make them part of your style.

  3. Very clear hungry, even though there was only a slight change to my prescription. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:Thanks San. I'm pleased with the new frames. :):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ :star:A very happy 2012 to you both :cheers:

  4. I've never worn glasses but I can appreciate that the ones in the top photo were probably beyond reasonable use. Glad you've got your new ones – and happy new year! :hat:

  5. Yay! New glasses feel so awesome. πŸ˜€ I can't wait to get mine as well. I like yours…stylish! :yes:Happy New Year! :hat:

  6. Mick, you need glasses for reading or far away stuff? Almost time to watch curling again my friend 😎

  7. Thanks Adele. Happy New Year:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Thanks Karen. Please post pics when you have yours. :)Happy New Year:star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Everything Carol, my eyes are shocking. :eyes:I'll have to see if I can find any curling on TV. So jealous of the brother, he got tickets to the Brier for Christmas.

  8. it's time I got a proper prescription myself. Although, being far-sighted, reading glasses have worked so far. :p

  9. "I think you'll be surprized what a difference prescription glasses make."Especially on a clear day, then you can see forever… :sing:

  10. Unless you're Tommy Cooper, hungry (get the reference and win a prize):star: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Thanks Louis :up:

  11. No, there's a sketch where Cooper sings "On a Clear Day…" but thanks to an over-enthusiastic smoke machine it ends up he can't see his hand in front of his face. I can't see a clip anywhere on-line or I'd have included it. 😦

  12. it's funny that people don't see what they see. i shaved my mustasche once and it was two weeks before the kids or my wife noticed. πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

