Still haven’t found what you’re looking for?

Have you tried Google? …


Of course you have, who hasn't? ๐Ÿ˜‰

But maybe the results weren't what you expected, or wanted, or you couldn't find just the right image, or you just didn't seem to be asking the right question.

Would you like to learn how to use Google better? :yes:

I came across this online course, http://www.powersearchingwithgoogle.com/

Run by Google itself, you can

Come learn about the powerful advanced tools we provide to help you find just the right information when the stakes are high.

Here's an introduction to give you an overview of what's involved.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ppwmxidyIE

I'm almost halfway through, I really should have done this post sooner ๐Ÿ˜ฎ , but you should still be able to join.

BTW, I know I have some phone surfers among my reader so I should mention that this course is designed for desktop browsers. Also, some of the features demonstrated only work on google.com, not regional sites like google.ie or google.ca Once you know that it's easy enough to change to the main site.

Still, I'm enjoying the lessons and learning lots of useful tips and tricks.

Did I mention you get a certificate from Google once you've passed? :hat:

25 thoughts on “Still haven’t found what you’re looking for?

  1. There's a mid-course assessment that's due on Monday – July 17 at 7:59am PDT – so for anyone that is interested I'd say get started this weekend.It shouldn't take you more than an hour and a half to get caught up. Oh, and there's a Google+ hangout (online teleconference) today.July 13 1:00-1:45pm PDT

  2. 2000 GMT (I just got emailed a reminder ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) so that sounds right. If anyone does miss it they said it will be available on YouTube afterwards.

  3. :doh: I missed it. I got doing something else and totally forgot. I'll have to watch the YouTube video.

  4. Sounds interesting indeed. I will have to catch up with the youtube video too because I won't be able to find the time for scheduled courses. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. Originally posted by volkuro:

    I will have to catch up with the youtube video too because I won't be able to find the time for scheduled courses.

    That video was only tentatively live anyway! They relied mostly on pre-supplied questions. (infomercial style) :up: .You can always submit question you have via the same mechanism for the next one and catch the 'recorded' response later! :p

  6. Well, I finished the course and the final assessment last night. My certificate is supposed be sent out, but maybe that won't happen until after the final due date.

  7. I've kinda stopped this. had other things to do and now it's Ramadaan! ๐Ÿ™„ .In other news, my Rasberry Pi is due to be delivered on Monday and I won an ST Micro STM32F0 Discovery Kit to review! :hat: (should receive that within thirty days)

  8. From what I understand the course will be left up. You just won't be eligible for a cert after the 25th.:cool: The Pi looks like a neat little project. I hope you're planning some posts about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I think I'll actually attempt an 'unboxing' post with this. :up: .I'm usually like a kid on Christmas morning with anything knew. ๐Ÿ˜† .I've got a partially demolished video monitor that I intend to use with it. (needs a power supply first though.)The RPi could be the biggest thing since Android if it lives up to it's hype. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

